You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Canterbury Cup Team List - Jets v Magpies

The Newtown Jets will be looking to jump start their 2019 season this weekend when they travel to Lidcombe Oval on Sunday for a round seven Canterbury Cup match against the Western Suburbs Magpies.

A narrow 18-16 defeat against the Panthers last Sunday, meaning the Newtown side have just one victory to show for their opening six matches, has the Jets in need of a win against a Magpies team currently entrenched in the top eight.

The Jets trailed throughout at Henson Park last Sunday, with an 80th minute Newtown try making the final score line respectable, however coach Greg Matterson will be hoping for an improved performance this Sunday.

In their defence the Jets have struggled for continuity in their team line up, with the injuries suffered by the Sharks NRL squad seeing a number of youngsters being blooded in the Canterbury Cup over the last few weeks.

See following the Jets team list and game day details, a round six match report as provided by Newtown Jets media, along with a link to all the match highlights from the Panthers game.

Please note the early kick off time of 1.10pm on Sunday, which is due to the match being televised live on Channel 9.


Canterbury Cup – round 7
Jets v Wests Magpies
Sunday, April 28
Lidcombe Oval
Kick-off – 1.10pm

1              Luke Polselli

2              Sione Katoa

3              Aaron Gray

4              Jackson Ferris

5              Isaac Lumelume

6              Kyle Flanagan

7              Braydon Trindall

8              Cruz Topai-Aveai

9              James Segeyaro

10           Jaimin Jolliffe

11           Teig Wilton

12           Billy Magoulias

13           Greg Eastwood


14           Josh Carr

15           Matt Evans

17           Daniel Vasquez

18           Tyla Tamou

21           Wes Lolo


Round 6
Jets in narrow loss to Panthers

by Newtown Jets Media

The Newtown Jets were narrowly beaten 18-16 by the Penrith Panthers in the sixth round Canterbury Cup NSW fixture played at Henson Park on Easter Sunday afternoon.

Newtown’s third and final try was scored in the final minute of play, with the time clock effectively preventing any chance of a belated Jets victory.

The Panthers had led 12-0 at halftime and looked to be well in command when they opened up an 18-4 lead with about fifteen minutes remaining.

Newtown had scored the first try of the second half when winger Isaac Lumelume pounced on the ball in pursuit of a well-flighted kick into the Panthers’ in-goal by five-eighth Kyle Flanagan. Halfback Braydon Trindall dashed over eight minutes out from fulltime and centre Ronaldo Mulitalo scored wide out in the final minute of the game.

The warm autumn weather took its toll on both groups of players, with both the Jets and Panthers team members making a lot of errors in the match. Penrith had the majority of possession during the game and spent a lot of time in Newtown’s half. The Jets defended gamely on their own line for extended periods, but in truth there were some rather dour spells of play in both halves of the match.

The Newtown Jets play the Western Suburbs Magpies in round seven of the Canterbury Cup NSW at Lidcombe Oval next Sunday, 28th April, at 1.10pm. This will be another Channel Nine televised game.

 Sunday’s match details:

Penrith 18:
Brian To’o, Caleb Aekins, Nick Lui-Toso tries; Dylan Edwards 3 goals
Newtown 16:
Rusiate (Isaac) Lumelume, Braydon Trindall, Ronaldo Mulitalo tries; Kyle Flanagan, Braydon Trindall goals.

Weather: Fine, sunny, 26 degrees Celsius, north-east breeze.

 Newtown’s team was:
Luke Polselli, Matt Evans, Aaron Gray, Ronaldo Mulitalo, Rusiate (Isaac) Lumelume, Kyle Flanagan, Braydon Trindall, Billy Magoulias, Daniel Vasquez, Siosifa Talakai, Wes Lolo, James Segeyaro, Jaimin (Jimmy) Jolliffe. Bench: Tyla Tamou, Teig Wilton, Greg Eastwood, Josh Carr, Cruz Topai-Aveai. Coach: Greg Matterson.

Dylan Edwards, Brent Naden, Matheson Johns, Tyrell Fuimaono, Brian To’o, Caleb Aekins, Jarome Luai, Hame Sele, Billy Burns, Jed Cartwright, Kaide Ellis, Mitch Kenny, Nick Lui-Toso. Bench: Liam Coleman, Reed Izzard, Ratu Tuisese, Anton Irara. Coach: Guy Missio.

Highlights of the Newtown v Penrith match:

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.