You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Canterbury Cup Team List - Jets v Rabbitohs

The 2019 season will be a hard act to follow as the Jets look to back up from their memorable dual championship victories, with their defence of the title beginning this week with a difficult away match against South Sydney at Metricon High Performance Centre (Redfern Oval) on Sunday.

The Jets claimed the Canterbury Cup title in exceptional circumstances last year, then backed it up with a last-ditch victory in the State Championship playoff, however returning coach Greg Matterson has a team with a vastly different look to start his 2020 campaign.

Gone is hooker Blayke Brailey, replaced by the capable former Raider Zac Woolford, while Grand Final hero Billy Magoulias has been named as Sharks 18th man for their round one clash and his status remains unknown.

Halfback Braydon Trindall is back for the Jets, as is the experienced Jayson Bukuya, while outside back Jensen Taumoepeau has enjoyed an outstanding summer with the Sharks NRL squad and despite being eligible to play in the under-20’s, has been included in the Newtown side for round one.

Other Sharks contracted players in the Jets squad include Jackson Ferris, Teig Wilton, Daniel Vasquez, Siosifa Talakai, Kyle Patterson and Kayleb Milne. 

The Jets and Rabbitohs kick off at 4.00pm on Sunday, with that match to be preceded by a Jersey Flegg clash between the Sharks and Souths at 2.10pm.

The Jets team is listed below.

Canterbury Cup Team List
Round 1
Jets v Rabbitohs
Sunday, March 15
Metricon High Performance Centre
Kick-off – 4.00pm

1              Tyla Tamou

2              Jackson Ferris

3              Addison Demetriou

14           Jenson Taumoepeau

17           John Olive

6              Matt Stimson

7              Braydon Trindall

8              Wes Lolo

9              Zac Woolford

10           Daniel Vasquez

11           Teig Wilton

12           Siosifa Talakai

13           Jayson Bukuya


15           Kyle Patterson

16           Brock Gray

21           Thomas Hazelton

23           Kayleb Milne

24           Tom Caughlan

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.