You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
JL clash kick starts Super Saturday at Sharks

The local boys are set to do battle on the big stage when the Como Crocodiles clash with the Menai Roosters in the first of three games at PointsBet Stadium on Saturday,

Kicking off at 1.00pm, the South Eastern Division Open Age Gold fixture sees the fourth-placed Roosters, tackle the Crocs in what promises to be a physical and spirited encounter.

Back in the First Grade competition after a long absence, Menai have been competitive through the early rounds, before stumbling somewhat in suffering a heavy defeat at the hands of De La Salle at their last start.

The Roosters slipped to fourth place following the loss but remain well within striking distance of competition leaders Gymea and De La Salle in sitting just two points behind after the opening eight rounds.

As for their opponents in the Crocs, despite the season only approaching the half way mark, the match for them shapes as a crucial one as they look to stay in touch with the top four and to push for a place in the finals.

Como went down narrowly to the Paddington Colts in their most recent encounter.    

The match is the first of two 'Open Age Gold' games to be played this year before the Sharks NRL fixtures and in an incentive for supporters of the local junior league, $1 from all ticket sales at Sharks home games goes back to the clubs for the purchase of much needed training equipment and game day gear.

The Sharks v Eels Jersey Flegg match, featuring the first-placed Cronulla team, follows at 3.05pm, with the NRL game at 5.30pm.

Como and Menai teams are listed below (numbers subject to change).


Caption: Menai's Jake Zoretic and Como's Rob Wishart ahead of their Open Age Gold fixture at PointsBet Stadium. Picture: Chris Lane, St George and Sutherland Shire Leader

Como Crocodiles

1.            Daniel Buckley

2.            Oliana Tamo'ua

3.            Jesse Harrison

4.            Brad Ellis

5.            Daniel Falconbridge

20.          Mick Doolan

19.          Dominic Wallace

8.            Henry Harding

9.            Thomas Colquhoun

10.          Brodie Payne

11.          Dylan Sparkes

12.          Ezekiel Vaotuua

13.          Darren Ratcliffe


17.          Jared Doolan

15.          Dale Hood

16.          Jack Kenning

18.          Will Matthews

21.          Rob Wishart


Menai Roosters
1. Matthew Hughes

2. Jarrod Hussey

3. Jake Zoretic

4. Blake Lawrence

5. Daniel Schwizler

6. Ben Williams

7. Brendan Cox (C)

8. Lewis Tucker

9. Aaron Powderly

10. Jesse Jenkins

11. Zach Taylor

12. Ben Johns

13. John Winley


14. Vinnie Toro

15. Sam Dark

16. Damien Grace

17. Michael Marmont

18. Jack Wilkinson

19. Mitchel Taylor

20. Jarrod Lawrence

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.