You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
2017 NRL - Grant Trouville © NRL Photos

While the Sharks depth is set to be tested this weekend coach Shane Flanagan has still managed to name a strong and experienced team to tackle the Bulldogs.

With four players missing, called up to the NSW team for State of Origin Game 1, a few new names were always likely to be thrown into the mix, however excepting the extended bench, the Sharks have come up with a side for Saturday’s clash that will be familiar to most members and fans.  

The snubbing by Queensland selectors of Valentine Holmes sees him remain at the back, while Gerard Beale moves from the wing into the centres due to the absence of Jack Bird.

The extremely capable Fa’amanu Brown comes into the Sharks halves in place of James Maloney, in what will be his 16th NRL game but first appearance in the top grade side this year, while Matt Prior returns in the front row after a week on the sidelines due to a suspension.

Chris Heighington retains his place in the starting side in Andrew Fifita’s jersey number eight, with Kurt Capewell slotting in for Wade Graham in the back row.

A couple of new names have cropped up on the extended bench, with talented young centre Jesse Ramien named in jersey 20 and recent Junior Kiwi rep Briton Nikora in 21. Nikora has been playing in the back row for John Morris’s NYC team.

Flanagan will reduce his squad list from 21 to 19 on Friday night, before naming his 17-man team one hour before kick off on Saturday.

The Sharks v Bulldogs game is scheduled for a 7.30pm kick off at Southern Cross Stadium on Saturday night.

NRL Team List – Round 12
Sharks v Bulldogs
Saturday, May 27
Southern Cross Group Stadium
Kick-off – 7.30pm

1 Valentine Holmes
2 Sosaia Feki
3 Gerard Beale
4 Ricky Leutele
5 Edrick Lee
6 Fa’amanu Brown
7 Chad Townsend
8 Chris Heighington  
9 Jayden Brailey  
10 Matt Prior
11 Luke Lewis
12 Kurt Capewell  
13 Paul Gallen
14 Jayson Bukuya  
15 Jeremy Latimore  
16 Sam Tagataese
17 Joseph Paulo
18 Kurt Dillion
19 Daniel Mortimer
20 Jesse Ramien
21 Briton Nikora

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners