You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The NYC Sharks have the ideal opportunity to move into second place on the Holden Cup ladder when they play the Manly Sea Eagles in a match deferred from earlier in the season.

While the rest of the NYC teams will be taking a well-earned break, the Sharks and Sea Eagles clash in a match which was postponed back in round three due to the condition of the Brookvale Oval playing surface.

With the Sharks currently fifth but just one point behind the Wests Tigers in second and with the game in hand, a victory on Saturday would see the young Cronulla side trail only the competition-leading Penrith Panthers.

Under the tutelage of new coach John Morris the young Sharks have enjoyed a strong start to the 2016 season, with the 36-26 win over the Broncos last Sunday their sixth in eight games so far this year.

The Sharks were impressive for around 65 minutes of the Broncos match, racing out to a commanding lead before lapsing in concentration as their opponents scored some late face-saving tries, with the 10-point difference at full-time flattering the Brisbane side.

Centre Keenan Yorston was one to impress for the Sharks in what was his first appearance in the NYC team in 2016, scoring three tries in the victory.

Fellow centre Lachlan Stein is another who has been in consistently good form, however as has been the case in most of the Sharks wins so far this year the forwards again laid the platform in getting over the top of their Brisbane rivals.

On the back of Sunday’s win Morris has named an unchanged team to take on Manly, with local front rowers Brock Ilett and Daniel Vasquez retained on the interchange bench after coming into the team last weekend.

The match against Manly will be a stand-alone affair at Brookvale Oval on Saturday afternoon. Kick-off is at 1.30pm

The Sharks team list is as follows;

NYC Round 3 deferred – Team List
Sharks v Manly
Saturday, May 7
Brookvale Oval
Kick-off – 1.30pm

1              Will Kennedy
2              Sione Katoa
3              Keenan Yorston
4              Lachlan Stein
5              Josh Tuilagi
6              Jack Williams
7              Rhys Davies
8              Tepa Fuiavailili
9              Jayden Brailey ©
10           Jaimin Jolliffe
11           Jesse Savage
12           Ash Nisbet
13           Jayden Mcdonogh
14           Justin Timu
15           Brock Ilett
16           Daniel Vasquez
17           Billy Magoulias

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners