You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Classic Clash - Team List Tuesday

It was the fifth placed Sharks, up against a Cowboys team which scraped in the NRL Finals in eighth place in an elimination final played at Allianz Stadium in 2013.

The Sharks came into the contest on the back of a commanding victory over the Raiders, while the Cowboys were equally impressive in their final round match in putting 50 points on the Wests Tigers, the game seeing two in-form teams come together in a sudden-death clash.

The Cronulla side had won 14 games throughout the year, the Cowboys 12, with the teams having played each other twice for two convincing wins to the North Queensland side.

Their most recent match up had occurred just two weeks prior, the Cowboys winning 31-18 in round 25 at the then-named Remondis Stadium.

The Sharks named a team which was missing front rowers Ben Ross and Bryce Gibbs, with both sidelined with injury, leaving the forwards with a difficult assignment up against the likes of international props Matt Scott and James Tamou.

Current Cronulla coach John Morris was Sharks hooker, Paul Gallen the captain, while a youngster named Jason Taumalolo was named in jersey 17 as a part of the Cowboys interchange bench.

The winner was playing for survival and the right to take on Manly in week two of the finals after the Sea Eagles had gone down by 4-0 to the Roosters at Allianz Stadium the previous night.

To coincide with what had been scheduled to be the Sharks v Cowboys round 10 game on the Sunshine Coast this weekend, this Classic Clash, Sharks against Cowboys in an elimination final from 2013, will be live via the website from 4.00pm on Saturday.  

The two teams are listed below.


Sharks Team List
2013 Elimination Final

1 Michael Gordon

2 Sosaia Feki

3 Ben Pomeroy

4 Jonathan Wright

5 Beau Ryan

6 Todd Carney

7 Jeff Robson

8 Andrew Fifita

9 John Morris

10 Sam Tagataese

11 Luke Lewis

12 Wade Graham

13 Paul Gallen

14 Isaac De Gois

15 Chris Heighington

16 Jayson Bukuya

17 Anthony Tupou


Cowboys Team List
2013 Elimination Final

1 Matthew Bowen

2 Wayne Ulugia

3 Brent Tate

4 Kane Linnett

5 Antonio Winterstein

6 Johnathan Thurston

7 Robert Lui

8 Matthew Scott

9 Rory Kostjasyn

10 James Tamou

11Gavin Cooper

12 Glenn Hall

13 Joel Riethmuller

14 Jayden Hodges

15 Tariq Sims

16 Scott Bolton

17 Jason Taumalolo

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.