You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
2018 Newtown Jets awards

Local Aquinas Colts junior and Sharks contracted hooker Blayke Brailey took home the major award at the annual Newtown Jets presentation night when announced as the winner of the Brian 'Chicka' Moore Shield as the club's 'Best and Fairest' in 2018.

Brailey had a magnificent debut season for the Jets, taking to the field in every one of Newtown's games.

The younger brother of current Sharks hooker Jayden, Blayke is every chance of making his NRL debut in 2019.

His 2018 season included selection in both the ISP Residents and Under 20s NSW sides, capped off with selection for the Junior Kangaroos, where he is currently in camp preparing to face the Junior Kiwis in Auckland on Saturday.

Alongside Brailey in Kangaroos camp is Kyle Flanagan, who picked up 'Best Back' and 'Leading Points Scorer' for Newtown in 2018, with the pair just two of many worthy winners at the Jets presentation dinner, held at the Petersham RSL Club on Tuesday night.

Sharks contracted young guns Will Kennedy, Aaron Gray, Briton Nikora and Jack A. Williams also went home with awards.

The prestigious 'Fred Daly Memorial Trophy', awarded to the player who is deemed to have contributed most to the Newtown RLFC in that season in a number of designated areas, was this year awarded to a very worthy recipient in Jaimin "Jimmy" Jolliffe.

Some of the criteria used to decide the Fred Daly Memorial Trophy include playing performance, positivity of attitude, leadership, respect and strength of character.

The Newtown Jets are partners with the Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks and the two clubs begin a new five-year partnership commencing on November 1,  2018.

Speaking at the Presentation night was Sharks CEO Barry Russell, who spoke very positively about the strength and viability of the Sharks-Jets partnership, as he recalled his own playing days with Newtown when the Jets won the Metropolitan Cup first grade premiership.


The 2018 Newtown Jets Awards
Blayke Brailey Best and Fairest (the Brian "Chicka" Moore Shield)
Kyle Flanagan Best Back
Jaimin "Jimmy" Jolliffe The Fred Daly Memorial Shield
Will Kennedy Leading Try Scorer
Kyle Flanagan Leading Points Scorer
Briton Nikora Most Improved Player
Jack A. Williams  Most Consistent Player
Aaron Gray Coach's Award
Wes Lolo Newtown RLFC Members' Player of the Year
John Trad Club Person of the Year
Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.