You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Woods and Holmes in 'Roos squad

Sharks fullback Valentine Holmes and prop Aaron Woods have both been included in the Kangaroos squad for Test Matches against New Zealand and Tonga 

The two Sharks will join three members of the Premiership-winning Sydney Roosters outfit in the Kangaroos squad toplay the Kiwis on October 13 and Tonga on October 20 at Mt Smart Stadium.

The 19-man squad also includes four debutants; Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Latrell Mitchell (Sydney Roosters), Tyrone Peachey (Penrith Panthers) and James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters).

South Sydney's Greg Inglis has been appointed Captain following the Representative retirement of Cameron Smith.

While the selection of Holmes was predictable following what was an outstanding 2018 season, for Woods it is a return to the representative arena after falling out of favour earlier in the year when playing for the Bulldogs. 

Since his switch to the Sharks, Woods found the form that had him as a regular fixture in both Australian and NSW teams in recent seasons. 

Along with Sharks teammates Chad Townsend, Matt Prior and Jesse Ramien, Woods was also selected in the Prime Minister's X111 to play in PNG next week. 

"This is a new era for the Kangaroos and it is a very exciting one, based on the talent available," Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga said.

"There is certainly a strong showing from the NSW squad which won the State of Origin series and we have a number of players who performed exceptionally well through the Finals Series as well as in the Grand Final.

"While there are only two Test matches for the Kangaroos this year they are extremely important to me and this squad.

"This will give us a good gauge of who we will be looking at to lead the Kangaroos into the future.

"The Kangaroos have not played the Kiwis in New Zealand for four years, and have not played in Auckland for six years, so the October 13 Test match will be an extremely important one for us.

"The first Test match ever against Tonga will also be a historic occasion not only for the Kangaroos but for the game as well."

The squad is as follows:

Kangaroos Squad (listed alphabetically)
Reagan Campbell-Gillard  - Penrith Panthers 
Daly Cherry-Evans - Manly Warringah Sea Eagles 
Damien Cook - South Sydney Rabbitohs
Boyd Cordner - Sydney Roosters 
Tyson Frizzel - St George Illawarra Dragons 
Valentine Holmes - Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks 
Ben Hunt - St George Illawarra Dragons 
Greg Inglis (c) - South Sydney Rabbitohs 
Felise Kaufusi - Melbourne Storm 
David Klemmer - Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 
Josh McGuire - Brisbane Broncos 
Jordan McLean - North Queensland Cowboys 
Latrell Mitchell - Sydney Roosters 
Cameron Munster - Melbourne Storm 
Tyrone Peachey - Penrith Panthers 
James Tedesco - Sydney Roosters 
Jake Trbojevic - Manly Warringah Sea Eagles 
Tom Trbojevic - Manly Warringah Sea Eagles 
Aaron Woods - Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks 

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.