You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Another victory by the NYC Sharks, a record 15th in succession, has them charging towards the finals with just two rounds of the regular season remaining.

The Sharks accounted for the fourth-placed Cowboys by 36-12 a week ago, continuing a streak that dates back to round eight, with a draw against the Panthers in April the last occasion the young Cronulla side failed to claim a victory.

The Sharks were too classy for the North Queenslanders at their last start, despite the fact that were missing two of their regulars in five eighth Luke Metcalf and backrower Briton Nikora.

The pair have been selected by coach John Morris and are expected to take on the Roosters tomorrow night.

Centre Jesse Ramien, named in both the NRL and Holden Cup team lists when they were revealed on Tuesday, is expected to take his place in the Sharks NYC team.

The two teams have met once this season already, with the Sharks scoring a hard-fought 32-18 victory in a round 17 match played on the Central Coast.

The reigning Holden Cup champions, the match against the Sharks is the last throw for the dice for the Roosters in defence of their title.

Sitting in 10th place, the Roosters need two wins in their final two games, coupled with other results going their way, should they hope to sneak into the top eight.

The match is also another chance for Kyle Flanagan to add to his impressive points tally, with the Sharks halfback eclipsing the previous mark during his teams win over the Cowboys.

Flanagan now has 326 points on the year and with two games and finals football to follow, is on track to set an imposing total.

The Sharks v Roosters NYC match is scheduled to get underway at 5.15pm at Southern Cross Group Stadium, with gates to open at 5.00pm.

Morris has trimmed the team list down from the originally-named 23 to 20, with the squad listed below. A final 17 will be named one-hour before kick-off.


NYC Team List – Round 25
Sharks v Roosters
Saturday, August 26
Southern Cross Group Stadium
Kick-off – 5.15pm

1 William KENNEDY
2 Sione KATOA
4 Jesse RAMIEN
8 Ryan KING
9 Blayke BRAILEY
10 Daniel VASQUEZ
11 Briton NIKORA
13 Billy MAGOULIAS ©
14 Eddie FAALUA
15 Joshua CARR
17 Zachary FAULKNER
19 Jackson FERRIS
20 Teig WILTON 
23 Clayton Uia

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners