You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Sharks Presentation Night.
Pic - Grant Trouville © NRL Photos

In a first for the Cronulla Sharks Club two players have shared the main award at the 2016 Presentation Night.

Front rowers Matt Prior and Andrew Fifita, players with vastly different styles but who were both integral to the Sharks premiership success this season, have been declared joint winners of the Monty Porter Medal and Pontifex Player of the Year Award.

In his best season in Sharks colours and perhaps his most outstanding so far in a nine-year NRL career, Prior was a tower of strength in the middle of the field, his bruising defence and strong charges with the football making him an extremely worthy recipient of the prestigious honour.

As for his fellow front rower Fifita, the barnstorming prop elevated his game to new levels this year, with his match-winning try in the Grand Final capping off a season in which he played all three Origin matches for NSW and helped to steer the Sharks to their maiden NRL title.   

On a night conducted at Sharks Leagues Club with a crowd of almost 500 in attendance, Ben Barba also accepted two significant awards, the Players Player for 2016 and the Members Player of the Year, while Queenslander Kurt Capewell was named Rookie of the Year.

In the NYC, Jayden Brailey, the NRL’s Holden Cup Player of the Year, added the Sharks Under-20’s Player of the Year accolade to his impressive resume, with Jayden McDonough the NYC Players Player.

Other awards on the night included the Club Person of the Year (Shane Smith), the Sharks Support Community Award (Paul Gallen) and Education Excellence awards (NRL to Chad Townsend, NYC Jayden Brailey).

The Tackle of the Year went to Luke Lewis for his bellringer on Matt Moylan at Southern Cross Group Stadium back in round 18, with Fifita’s Grand Final four-pointer a standout as Sharks Try of the Year.

See below for a full list of 2016 Sharks Presentation Night award winners, along with the Sharks contracted players who collected awards at the Newtown Jets Annual presentation event.  


2016 Sharks Award Winners

Monty Porter Medal and Pontifex Player of the Year
Matt Prior and Andrew Fifita

Tommy Bishop NRL Players Player Award
Ben Barba

Steve Rogers Rookie of the Year
Kurt Capewell

Members Player of the Year
Ben Barba

Andrew Ettingshausen Club Person of the Year
Shane Smith

Gavin Miller NYC Player of the Year
Jayden Brailey

Greg Pierce NYC Greg Pierce Players Player
Jayden McDonough

Sharks Support Community Award
Paul Gallen

Wellbeing and Education Excellence Award
NRL – Chad Townsend
NYC – Jayden Brailey

Tackle of the Year
Luke Lewis – Round 18 v Panthers

Try of the Year
Andrew Fifita – Grand Final v Storm

Iron Man Awards ((Players who played every game in 2016)
NRL – Ben Barba
- Chad Townsend
- Wade Graham

NYC – Jayden Brailey
- Lachlan Stein
- Ash Nisbet
- Tepa Fuiavailili


Newtown Jets Awards

Brian ‘Chicka’ Moore Shield (Best and Fairest) – Kurt Capewell

Best Back – Josh Cleeland

Coach’s Award – Anthony Moraitis

Fred Daly Memorial Shield (for the player who has contributed most to the club on an off the field) - Matt McIlwrick.

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners