You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Five girls who helped launch the Sharks Women’s 9’s recently have been included in the NSW Women’s State of Origin team to play Queensland this weekend.

The five Sharks, who are also members of the Australia Jillaroos squad, Allana Furguson, Sam Bremner, Corban McGregor, Maddie Studdon and Ruan Sims will be joined by Cronulla Caringbah teammates Jennifer Latu and Ruby Ewe for the match scheduled for a 3.00pm kick off on Saturday at CBUS Super Stadium on the Gold Coast.

After conceding the trophy to Queensland on 16 consecutive occasions, the NSW bridged the gap in 2015, playing out a 4-all draw with their traditional rivals, with Ferguson keen to bring the tophy back to NSW.

“It will be a huge battle. It won’t be a flogging either way,” Ferguson told the Daily Telegraph. “But we will bleed blue for the full 80 minutes out there.”

The team will assemble and train in Sydney this week before heading north on Friday, where they will complete preparations with a Captain’s run at Pizzey Park in Miami prior to the game on Saturday.

The Sharks girls at least start the game with some added confidence after ramping up their training program under the guidance of Cronulla 9’s coach Jason Stanton.

The Sharks 9’s team will shortly invite players to come together for trials from which players will be selected to represent the Sharks in a ground-breaking 9’s match in the coming weeks.

That match has been tentatively planned to take place at Southern Cross Group Stadium on the day of the Sharks v Roosters NRL match on August 27.

More details on trials for the Sharks Women’s 9’s team and the inaugural 9’s match will be made available once confirmed.

The NSW Women’s State of Origin team is as follows;

1. Samantha Bremner (Cronulla-Caringbah)

2. Isabelle Kelly (Berkeley Vale)

3. Corban McGregor (Cronulla-Caringbah)

4. Caitlin Moran (Hunter Stars)

5. Nakia Davis-Welsh (Redfern All-Blacks)

6. Allana Ferguson (Cronulla-Caringbah)

7. Maddie Studdon (Cronulla-Caringbah)

8. Ruan Sims (Cronulla-Caringbah)

9. Rebecca Riley (Redfern All-Blacks)

10. Elianna Walton (Greenacre)

11. Kezie Apps (Helensburgh)

12. Vanessa Foliaki (Mounties)

13. Simaima Taufa (Mounties)

14. Lavina Phillips (Redfern All-Blacks)

15. Jennifer Latu (Cronulla-Caringbah)

16. Jasmin Allende (Redfern All-Blacks)

17. Rebecca Young (Hunter Stars)

18. Ruby Ewe (Cronulla-Caringbah)

Ben Cross Head Coach

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.