You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

In all 11 Sharks NRL squad members have been named in the Newtown side to take on the Wests Tigers in a NSW Cup trial to be contested this Saturday.

The Sharks partner club in the NSW Cup competition, the Jets will benefit by the inclusion of a number of experienced campaigners, with the likes of Jesse Sen-Lefao, Mitch Brown, Junior Roqica and Fa’amanu Brown amongst those to wear the royal blue this weekend.

Newcomers to the Sharks in Jordan Drew, Josh Cleeland, Kurt Capewell and Matt McIlwirck will also go around for the Jets at Campbelltown on Saturday.

Another Shark the fans will be interested to see will be winger Jacob Gagag in his first game back after a long period on the sidelines. 

Gagan was out of action with repeated hamstring problems in 2015 before his issues were magnified when he tore an achilles tendon late in the season while playing in the NSW Cup. 

A fit and firing Gagan would be an asset to the Sharks and to Newtown in 2016. 

For the Jets eyes will also be on Arana Taumata, the former Bulldogs, Cowboys and Panthers half back who has joined the Newtown side in 2016.

Taumata played limited minutes in the Sharks trial match draw against Manly last Sunday, throwing a perfectly timed pass for Valentine Holmes to score a vital try late in the match.

The NSW Cup trial will kick off at 5.00pm at Campbelltown Stadium on Saturday afternoon, with the Sharks v Tigers NRL match to follow at 7.00pm.

NSW Cup Trial
Newtown Jets v Wests Tigers
Saturday, February 20
Campbelltown Stadium
Kick-off 5.00pm

1              Jaline Graham
2              Mitch Brown                    
3              Jordan Drew                    
4              Matt Evans                        
5              Jacob Gagan                      
6              Josh Cleeland                  
7              Arana Taumata                
14           Junior Roqica *                
9              Fa'amanu Brown            
10           Jesse Sene-Lefao            
11           Anthony Moratis            
12           Kurt Capewell                  
13           Matt McIlwrick                
8             Myles Taueli *                  
15           Kurt Kara                            
16           Jason Schirnack                
17           Malakai Houma                
18           Corin Smith                        
19           Brent Anderson              
20           Harrison Muller                
Coach - Greg Matterson               

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners