You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Hynes, McInnes selected for NSW in Origin I

Sharks halfback Nicho Hynes and captain Cameron McInnes have been rewarded for their sensational club form with selection for NSW in State of Origin I at Accor Stadium on June 5.

Hynes is set to wear the No.7 jersey, partnering Penrith's Jarome Luai in the halves, while McInnes will make a deserved Origin debut at lock.

Despite undergoing scans on a calf issue this afternoon, Blues selectors have backed Hynes to face Queensland in the series opener. Roosters star Luke Keary has been included in a 20-man squad as cover.

Hynes and McInnes have been integral in the Sharks' surge to the top of the NRL ladder through 12 rounds, impressing new Blues coach Michael Maguire.

Hynes has one Origin appearance to his name, having played 12 minutes off the bench in the unfamiliar role of centre in a 26-18 defeat in game one last year.

The 27-year-old then earned his first Australian cap in the 2023 Pacific Championships before producing arguably career-best form this season.

Long touted as an Origin-calibre player given his renowned toughness and passion, inspirational forward McInnes will finally get his shot for his state.

The 30-year-old's ability to play hooker if required gives Maguire valuable options in his rotation, with Reece Robson the only specialist dummy-half in the team.

McInnes is one of six debutants alongside Dylan Edwards, Joseph Sua'ali'i, Zac Lomax, Haumole Olakau'atu and Spencer Leniu.

See the NSW squad below.


Ampol State of Origin, Game One
Accor Stadium, Sydney
Wednesday 5 June
1. Dylan Edwards (Penrith Panthers)
2. Brian To’o (Penrith Panthers)
3. Stephen Crichton (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
4. Joseph Sua’ali’i (Sydney Roosters)
5. Zac Lomax (St George Illawarra Dragons)
6. Jarome Luai (Penrith Panthers)
7. Nicholas Hynes (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
8. Jake Trbojevic (c) (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
9. Reece Robson (North Queensland Cowboys)
10. Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos)
11. Liam Martin (Penrith Panthers)
12. Angus Crichton (Sydney Roosters)
13. Cameron McInnes (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
14. Isaah Yeo (Penrith Panthers)
15. Haumole Olakau’atu (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
16. Spencer Leniu (Sydney Roosters)
17. Hudson Young (Canberra Raiders)
18. Matt Burton (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
19. Luke Keary (Sydney Roosters)
20. Mitchell Barnett (Warriors)
Coach: Michael Maguire

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners