You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Sharks and Dragons clash for the Monty Porter Cup

Should the Sharks record a fourth consecutive victory over the Dragons and retain the Monty Porter Memorial Cup, it would more than likely take up a prominent position at the Sharks at Kareela club.

Were the Dragons to spoil the party at PointsBet Stadium on Saturday and reclaim the coveted piece of silverware, they would need to decide whether the Leagues Club in Kogarah or their training base in Wollongong would be the best place to put it on display.   

Two competition points, a spot in the top for the Sharks and the chance to stay in the hunt for a Finals berth for the Dragons is probably of most importance, but don’t discount the significance of having the opportunity to show off the Cup until 2023.

Two points are one thing, but bragging rights for fans, officials and players is almost as important when it comes to the rivalry which exists between the southern Sydney NRL neighbours.

A trophy struck in honour of a player and administrator who served both clubs with distinction, the Monty Porter Memorial Cup came to being in 2012 with the Cronulla and St George Illawarra clubs competing for it ever since.

A member of multiple Grand Final teams with St George during their golden run through the 1950’s and ‘60’s, then the foundation Cronulla captain in 1967 and a long time Sharks Secretary, Monty Porter is a name synonymous with the two clubs.

Porter, who passed away in 2011, aged 76, came to Sydney from northern NSW, first playing with Wests in 1955 before switching to St George in 1957.

A prop and second row forward, Porter would go on to play a part in six grand final wins with the all-conquering Dragons, before shifting to the Sharks in 1967 where he was installed as Cronulla's club captain in their inaugural year in the top-flight NSWRL competition.

Upon retiring from playing in 1968, Porter became the Cronulla Club Secretary, also remaining actively involved as chairman of selectors, as well as under-23s coach in 1973-1974.

He would also be installed as President of the Cronulla club from 1983 to 1987.

From 2008 the Sharks best player was awarded the Monty Porter Medal, transitioning to a new award, the Porter-Gallen Medal in 2020 which is presented to the first grade Player of the Year.

The southern grandstand at PointsBet Stadium is also named in Porter’s honour.

Monty’s son Michael made 154 first-grade appearances from 1984 and 1994, adding to the family legacy at the Sharks, while more recently grandson Monty Raper played a leading role in the 2018 Sharks Jersey Flegg premiership winning team.

Having won three on the trot against the Dragons, the Sharks are the current holders of the Cup, their most recent win coming earlier this year when they scored a 36-12 victory at WIN Stadium in Wollongong.


The specially struck trophy was donated by the Monty Porter Foundation, an organisation bearing Porter’s name which helps to promote sport within the Sutherland Shire and assist sportsmen and women, 19 years and younger, who may be disadvantaged.

Local junior Jayden Brailey is a past recipient of the Porter Foundation grant when named in the Australian Schoolboys team while coming through the Sharks junior representative ranks.

At each game a Monty Porter Foundation Man of the match medal is presented (see photo, medal presented by Foundation representative Pat Turner to 2021 recipient Blayke Brailey)

Ahead of this the 21st staging of the Monty Porter Cup the ledger currently stands at 10 wins apiece, with the victor on Saturday set to hold the trophy and the all-important bragging rights than come with it.



2022 – Round 3 – Sharks 36 – Dragons 12

2021 – Round 11 – Sharks 13 – Dragons 12

2021 – Round 1 – Sharks 32 – Dragons 18

2020 – Round 5 – Dragons 30 – Sharks 16

2019 – Round 22 – Sharks 18 – Dragons 12

2019 – Round 11 – Sharks 22 – Dragons 9

2018 – Round 6 – Dragons 40 – Sharks 20

2018 – Round 2 – Dragons 20 – Sharks 16

2017 – Round 10 – Sharks 18 – Dragons 14

2017 – Round 3 – Dragons 16 – Sharks 10

2016 – Round 23 - Dragons 32 – Sharks 18

2016 – Round 2 – Sharks 30 – Dragons 2

2015 – Round 18 – Sharks 28 – Dragons 8

2015 – Round 12 – Dragons 42 – Sharks 6

2014 – Round 13 – Dragons 30 – Sharks 0

2014 – Round 3 – Dragons 14 – Sharks 12

2013 – Round 23 – Sharks 22 – Dragons 18

2013 – Round 4 – Dragons 25 – Sharks 12

2012 – Round 19 – Dragons 18 – Sharks 10

2012 – Round 6 – Sharks 12 – Dragons 0



1955 Western Suburbs Magpies: 4 games

1958-65 St George Dragons: 119 games (13 tries)

1967 Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks: 22 games (3 tries)


1960 New South Wales: 1 game


Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.