You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Wheeler the big winner at Women’s awards night

Her first year at the Sharks was certainly an eventful one for Holli Wheeler, with the former NSW Women’s Origin player taking out the two major awards at the Sharks Women’s Presentation event held at Sharks at Kareela last night.

A member of the Sharks Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership team which came agonisingly close to claiming the title, the Cronulla girls suffering a heartbreaking golden point defeat in the Grand Final, Wheeler was named the first Sharks Women’s Player of the Year, while also taking out her team’s Player of the Year award.

Another newcomer at the Sharks in Brooke Anderson was presented the Coaches Award by Harvey Norman Women’s Coach Tony Herman, who reflected on a successful season, one which could easily have included a premiership victory.

Primarily used at lock, Anderson who was playing her first full season of rugby league, slotted into a number of positions during the season in proving to be an extremely valuable addition to the Sharks team in 2022.  

Herman also handed hooker Quincy Dodd the Grand Final game ball after being named player of the match in the Sharks 21-20 loss to the Wests Tigers.

The Tarsha Gale Sharks were also recognised for their efforts in a season which came to end earlier in the year, coach Jonathan Te Wara presenting Kirsty Sant with the Player of the Year and Chloe Boston his Coaches Award.

Despite missing the competition Finals the Tarsha Gale Sharks were competitive throughout the year, with a number of their players moving up to the senior Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership squad at the conclusion of their season in emphasising the women’s pathways that are in place at the Cronulla club.

On the night Sharks CEO Dino Mezzatesta and Pathway and Talent Identification Manager Glenn Brailey spoke in praising the girls for their efforts in 2022, while also looking ahead to an exciting 2023 where the Sharks will compete in the NRLW competition for the first time.

Sharks Women’s Presentation Night

Women’s Player of the Year
Holli Wheeler

Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership Player of the Year
Holli Wheeler

Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership Coaches Award
Brooke Anderson

Tarsha Gale Player of the Year
Kirsty Sant

Tarsha Gale Coaches Award
Chloe Boston

Holli Wheeler - Sharks Women's Player of the Year
Holli Wheeler - Sharks Women's Player of the Year
Kirsty Sant
Kirsty Sant




Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.