You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Passionate on the field and equally so in his efforts in the community off it, Ronaldo Mulitalo has been announced as a finalist for the NRL’s prestigious Ken Stephen Medal.

At the Dally M awards night held in Brisbane on Monday evening, Mulitalo was revealed to be amongst the top four, alongside Cody Walker (Souths), Jamal Fogerty (Titans) and Ryan Matterson (Eels), with the winner to be announced on Grand Final Day at Suncorp Stadium on Sunday.

Were he to claim the award, which recognises excellence and outstanding work in the community space, Mulitalo has been an exemplary volunteer, always involved in Sharks Have Heart based initiatives, while leading the club in community appearance hours over the past two seasons.

The Sharks as a club were last successful in taking out the Ken Stephen when Sam Tagataese won the Medal in 2017.

For Mulitalo, playing in the NRL allows him to positively make an impact in the community, with his work as an ambassador for Stepping Stone House charity, an organisation focusing on providing at risk youth with a safe home and educational and employment opportunities, conducted away from his Sharks Have Heart contributions.

He also worked tirelessly to support teammate Fine Kula throughout his brain cancer battle, initiating the #FightforFine campaign, helped deliver the NRL’s Voice Against Violence and League in Life programs in schools and assisted at the Skillz4me and Sharks All Abilities School program in supporting children with disabilities.

As with the majority of the Sharks NRL squad, Mulitalo has a passion for the community, treating events with respect and enthusiasm in delivering memorable experiences for all involved.

Mulitalo was also a nominee for the 2020 Ken Stephen Medal, won by Connor Watson from the Knights, while 2022 Sharks recruit Nicho Hynes was a nominee in 2021, while another of the newcomers in Dale Finucane was nominated in 2020.

The list of nominees is listed below (their current NRL club and junior clubs noted) with the top four highlighted.

Adam Doueihi (Wests Tigers/Strathfield Raiders)

Cody Walker (South Sydney Rabbitohs/Casino Cougars)

Jamal Fogarty (Gold Coast Titans/Beaudesert Kingfishers)

Jamayne Isaako (Brisbane Broncos/Aranui Eagles)

Jarrod Croker (Canberra Raiders/Goulburn Stockmen Juniors)

Josh King (Newcastle Knights/Singleton Greyhounds)

Nat Butcher (Sydney Roosters/South Eastern Seagulls)

Nicho Hynes (Melbourne Storm/Umina Bunnies)

Raymond Faitala-Mariner (Canterbury Bulldogs/Otahuhu Leopards NZ)

Ronaldo Mulitalo (Cronulla Sharks/Springfield Panthers)

Ryan Matterson (Parramatta Eels/Bankstown Bulls)

Sean Keppie (Manly Sea Eagles/Narellan Jets)

Tom Gilbert (North Queensland Cowboys/Norths Devils Brisbane)