You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Newtown Jets begin the defense of their NSW Cup title with a game against St George Illawarra on Sunday. 

The Jets, the Sharks partner club in the Knock-On Effect NSW Cup, claimed both the state and national championships in 2019 and with no senior competitions conducted last year, go into the 2021 season as reigning champions. 

In revealing a team for round one, the Jets have name a side with a sprinkling of Sharks NRL squad members, added to some experienced players of their own, with Nene Macdonald, Luke Metcalf, Jackson Ferris and Dan Vasquez, to join the likes of Tom Hazelton, Gabe Hamlin and Brock Grey who were impressive in the recent trial matches. 

Pending final selections in the Sharks 17-man NRL squad for this weekend's game, the Jets may also be bolstered by a few players not required for the first grade clash. 

The Jets v Dragons round one fixture is scheduled for a 3.55pm kick off as the curtain-raiser to the Sharks v Dragons NRL match-up at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium on Sunday. 

The team for the Newtown Jets round one match is listed below. 

Knock-On Effect NSW Cup - Team List 
Round 1
Jets v Dragons
Sunday, March 14
Netstrata Jubilee Stadium 
Kick-off 3.55pm

1 HonetiTuha

2 EdwardAiono

3 Tyrone Phillips

4 Jackson Ferris 

5 Nene Macdonald

6 Tyler Tamou

7 Luke Metcalf 

8 Brock Illet 

9 Kyle Patterson

10 Dan Vasquez

11 Bronson Garlick 

12 D'Rhys Miller

13 Gabe Hamlin


15 Zac Woolford

16 Brock Gray

17 Tom Hazelton 

21 Monty Raper

26 Wyndam Peachey

For the Newtown Jets 2021 season draw - CLICK HERE