You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
NRL Team List: Sharks v Cowboys

A tough loss to the Tigers last Saturday night has the Sharks heading north to Townsville desperate for a win and the two competition points that would kick start their 2020 season.

The Cronulla team took a six-point lead to the half time break last weekend, only for the Tigers to claw their way back into the contest then run away with the result late, with the Sharks good work in coming from behind in the first half undone by some sloppy play in the second period of the match.

Coach John Morris has named his 21-man squad for their round four clash with the Cowboys on Saturday night, with Chad Townsend the major omission after the half back was ruled out due to a hamstring issue.

Townsend’s place in the run-on team has been taken by Matt Moylan who will play in jersey six, with Shaun Johnson in seven, while local product Connor Tracey is set to assume the utility role in this weekend’s game.

Andrew Fifita has also been ruled out of the Sharks team, with Toby Rudolf, as he did in the loss to the Tigers, moving into the starting 13.  

A new name in the Sharks 17 is Souths junior Siosifa Talakai who if he takes to the field on Saturday night would be making his debut in Cronulla colours.

A strong ball runner and a standout for the Newtown Jets in their premiership success in 2019, Talakai is predominantly a backrower who can also cover for any injuries in the outside backs.

The Sharks v Cowboys match is scheduled for a 7.30pm kick off at Queensland Country Bank Stadium and will be televised live on Fox Sports.

1. William KENNEDY - Sponsored by Shore Hire
2. Sione KATOA - Sponsored by WED Group
3. Josh DUGAN - Sponsored by Waterwize Services
4. Jesse RAMIEN - Sponsored by Vinyl Room Gymea
5. Ronaldo MULITALO - Sponsored by Australian Hammer Supplies
6. Matt MOYLAN - Sponsored by Infrastructure Nation
7. Shaun JOHNSON - Sponsored by Vox Law
8. Toby RUDOLF - Sponsored by Stewart Toyota
9. Blayke BRAILEY - Sponsored by Shire Steel & Fabrications
10. Aaron WOODS - Sponsored by Sydney Mutual Bank
11. Briton NIKORA - Sponsored by John Ryan Freight Management
12. Wade GRAHAM - Sponsored by White Wolf Constructions
13. Jack WILLIAMS - Sponsored by Sharp
14. Connor TRACEY - Sponsored by Gecko
15. Braden HAMLIN-UELE - Sponsored by Dacca Group
16. Siosifa TALAKAI - Sponsored by Triple H
17. Scott SORENSEN - Sponsored by Green Options
18. Billy MAGOULIAS - Sponsored by Ace Gutters
19. Braydon TRINDALL - Sponsored by TFH
20. Royce HUNT - Sponsored by Minespec Parts
21. Tieg WILTON - Sponsored by Sarraf Strata