You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
State Championship – Jets v Bears

After their heart-stopping win in the Canterbury Cup decider last weekend, the Newtown Jets can put the finishing touches on a memorable year when they play Queensland champions the Burleigh Bears in the State Championship game on Grand Final day at ANZ Stadium on Sunday.

The Jets scored in the dying moments of overtime to claim victory last weekend, Will Kennedy on the end of some Billy Magoulias magic, however the two young Sharks will again need to be on their game against a Burleigh team which ran out comfortable winners in their Queensland Cup Grand Final.

Burleigh won their way through to a match-up with the Jets on the big stage at ANZ Stadium courtesy of a 28-10 win over Wynnum Manly.

The Jets emerged from the epic 90-minute Grand Final win over Wentworthville somewhat battered and bruised, with physios and medical staff needing to work overtime to get the young squad ready to battle again as they chase State Championship glory.

Again, they will look for Kennedy and Magoulias to lead the way, while hoping the likes of five eighth and captain Will Kennedy, young centre Ronaldo Mulitalo and winger Tyrone Phillips are good to go on Sunday after picking up injuries in the win over the Magpies.

The experienced Greg Eastwood, as well as talented youngsters Jackson Ferris, Luke Polselli and Josh Carr are waiting in the wings should some of those last week’s team be unable to go around this weekend.

The Newtown v Burleigh game is scheduled for a 1.35pm kick off at ANZ Stadium on Sunday, with the Jets team listed below.

State Championship Final – Team List
Newtown Jets v Burleigh Bears
Sunday, October 6
ANZ Stadium
Kick-off – 1.35pm

1              Will Kennedy

2              Sione Katoa

3              Aaron Gray

4              Ronaldo Mulitalo

5              Tyrone Phillips

6              Jack A Williams

7              Braydon Trindall

8              Toby Rudolf

9              Blayke Brailey

10           Jaimin Jolliffe

11           Scott Sorensen

12           Jayson Bukuya

13           Billy Magoulias


14           Teig Wilton

16           Siosifa Talakai

19           Matt Evans

23           Daniel Vasquez


15           Jackson Ferris

18           Luke Polselli

21           Wes Lolo

20           Grant Garvey

24           Josh Carr

25           Greg Eastwood

26           Tyla Tamou


Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.