You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Sharks star James Segeyaro has been named as captain of the Papua New Guinea Kumuls ahead of their Pacific Test against Fiji on Saturday night.

Segeyaro, who played in four games for PNG at the 2017 World Cup, will skipper his nation of birth for the first time.

Shortly after being afforded the honour of captaincy, Segeyaro sent out the following message through his social media account.

"What a honour and privilege to be named captain (of PNG). Firstly, I would like to thank the coaching staff and teammates for giving me this opportunity. Lastly my family and friends that have supported me throughout this journey I would like to say I LOVE YOU!"

Now in his second season at the Sharks, Segeyaro has delivered a number of outstanding performances in 2018, with his energy and impact instrumental in the team's success during their recent six game winning streak.

Again last Saturday night against the Broncos, despite being on the losing side, Segeyaro almost changed the game in the Sharks favour with a couple of classy touches late in the contest.

Segeyaro is among six NRL players named in the PNG team to face Fiji at Campbelltown Stadium this weekend.

He joins St George Illawarra winger Nene Macdonald Macdonald, Sydney Roosters halves Kurt Baptiste and Lachlan Lam, Canterbury backrower Rhyse Martin and Melbourne centre Justin Olam.

The six players were members of the Kumuls team which qualified for a quarter-final appearance at last year's World Cup, with PNG winning all three of their pool matches before bowing out to the English team. 

Former Bulldogs forward Rod Griffin, now with the Townsville Blackhawks, is also in the 18-man squad named by PNG coach Michael Marum.

The PNG team has nine players from the PNG Hunters, who are the defending Queensland Intrust Super Cup premiers, including playmaker Watson Boas and former Penrith prop Stanton Albert.

The clash with Fiji, which will be the first match played in the Pacific Test double-header featuring Samoa v Tonga, kicks off at 4.10pm.

PNG Squad
Adex Wera (PNG Hunters), Enock Maki (PNG Hunters), Nene Macdonald (St George Illawarra Dragons), Junior Rau (PNG Hunters), Justin Olam (Melbourne Storm), Kurt Baptiste (Sydney Roosters), Lachlan Lam (Sydney Roosters), Luke Page (Burleigh Bears), James Segeyaro © (Cronulla Sharks), Nixon Putt (PNG Hunters), Rhadley Brawa (PNG Hunters), Rhyse Martin (Canterbury Bulldogs), Richard Pandia (Ipswich Jets), Rod Griffin (Townsville Blackhawks), Stanton Albert (PNG Hunters), Thompson Teteh (PNG Hunters), Watson Boas (PNG Hunters), Willie Minoga (PNG Hunters)

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners