You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Young Sharks in NSW Pathway squads

Four young Sharks, including Bronson Xerri who has been training with the NRL squad throughout the summer, have been named in NSW Pathways age group squads.

The NSWRL today announced the initial NSW Under-18s and Under 16’s Pathways squads for 2018, with Xerri and Franklin Pele chosen in the 18’s and Billy Burke and Blake Hosking in the 16’s.

All four will assemble at the Sydney Academy of Sport in Narrabeen on 15-17 January for a pre-season camp.

Xerri, an outside back and Pele who plays in the front row, were both members of the Sharks SG Ball side in 2017 and are once again eligible to compete in the NSWRL Junior rep under 18’s competition which begins in a little over a month’s time.

Burke and Hosking, both forwards, will turn out for the Sharks in the Matthew’s Cup in the coming season.

All four are from local junior league clubs, with Xerri and Burke from the Aquinas Colts, Pele from Gymea, while Hosking played for the Engadine/Yarrawarrah/Bosco combined team in 2017.

The initial Pathways squads are listed below, with players to be added when identified during the upcoming Junior rep season.

2018 NSW Uunder 18’s Pathways squad

Mateo Tatola                       Canterbury Bulldogs

Franklin Pele                        Cronulla Sharks

Bronson Xerri                      Cronulla Sharks

Max Feagai                           Illawarra Steelers

Mathew Feagai                    Illawarra Steelers

Josh Schuster                       Manly Sea Eagles

Max Lehmann                      Manly Sea Eagles

Albert Hopoate                    Manly Sea Eagles

Jaron Purcell                        Newcastle Knights

Phoenix Crossland              Newcastle Knights

Bradman Best                      Newcastle Knights

Sam Hughes                         Parramatta Eels

Stefano Utoikamanu          Parramatta Eels

Tyler Field                             Parramatta Eels

Kyle Schneider                     Parramatta Eels

John Paul Nohra                   Parramatta Eels

Shawn Blore                         Penrith Panthers

Lindsay Smith                      Penrith Panthers

Duwanye Fuimaono            Sydney Roosters

Egan Butcher                        Sydney Roosters


2018 NSW Under-16s Pathways squad

Clay Webb                             Canberra Raiders

Jack Williams                        Canberra Raiders

Junior Tupou                         Canberra Raiders

Billy Burke                            Cronulla Sharks

Blake Hosking                      Cronulla Sharks

Tyreece Matangi                 Manly Sea Eagles

Kaeo Weekes                       Manly Sea Eagles

Unitoni Mataele                   Manly Sea Eagles

Noah Griffiths                      Melbourne Storm

Kodi Crowther                      Newcastle Knights

Nicholas Russell                  North Sydney

Trey Mooney                        Parramatta Eels

Oscar Mezzomo                  Parramatta Eels

Caleb Tohi                             Parramatta Eels

Jai Wynbergen                      Penrith Panthers

Hohepa Puru                         Penrith Panthers

Zach Maling                         South Sydney

Zach Kambos                       South Sydney

Josh Bevan                            Sydney Roosters

Cameron Lawrence             Western Suburbs


Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners