You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Sharks hooker James Segeyaro has been selected in a Papua New Guinea Kumuls squad that includes 10 players from the PNG Hunters, for the upcoming Rugby League World Cup.

David Mead from the Broncos will Captain the team, Ase Boas from the Hunters the Vice Captain, with Segeyaro returning to the Kumuls side for the first time since 2011.

He has previously played just one match for PNG.

PNGRFL Chairman Sandis Tsaka announced the PNG LNG Kumuls squad in the presence of ExxonMobil PNG Managing Director Andrew Barry and National Gaming Control Board CEO Imelda Agon.

Tsaka congratulated the selected players and with their pool matches to be played on home soil, urged them to play their best in front of what will be a fanatical crowd.

“Riding on the back of the successful SP PNG Hunters season in the Queensland Intrust Super Cup, the support of our nation’s 8 million plus people will turn to the PNG LNG Kumuls in the 2017 World Cup campaign," Tsaka said.

"With three home games, the expectations of our people is there for you to perform well. All we ask of you is to play every game with pride and passion. We will be right behind you."

The team leaves for Fiji next Wednesday October 11 for aTri Nations series against Australia and Fiji at the ANZ Stadium in Suva, beginning on October 14. The PNG LNG Kumuls then return on October 16, before playing  their first gamer on October 28 against Wales.

The second match is on November 5 against Ireland and the final home pool game is against USA on November 12.

All games will be played at the Oil Search National Football Stadium in Port Moresby.

Catch all the action from the 2017 Rugby League World Cup LIVE across Australia. Purchase your tickets here today!

The Papua New Guinea Kumuls Squad
 Ase Boas - SP PNG Hunters
 David Mead - Brisbane Broncos
 Enock Maki - SP PNG Hunters
 Garry Lo - Sheffield Eagles
 James Segeyaro - Cronulla Sharks
 Justin Olam - Melbourne Storm
 Kato Ottio - Canberra Raiders
 Kurt Baptiste - Canberra Raiders
 Lachlan Lam - Sydney Roosters
 Luke Page - Burleigh Bears
 Moses Meninga - SP PNG Hunters
 Nene MacDonald - St. George Illawarra Dragons
 Nixon Put - SP PNG Hunters
 Paul Aiton – Catalan Dragons
 Rhys Martin – Canterbury Bulldogs
 Rod Griffin – Canterbury Bulldogs
 Stanton Albert - SP PNG Hunters
 Stargroth Amean - SP PNG Hunters
 Thompson Teteh - Redcliffe Dolphins
 Wartovo Puara Jnr - SP PNG Hunters
 Wellington Albert – SP PNG Hunters
 Watson Boas – SP PNG Hunters
 Willie Minoga – SP PNG Hunters

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners