You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

A win away from home in Canberra then a convincing win over local rivals the Dragons has the Sharks women’s team ready and primed for what promises to be a formidable challenge against a strong Newcastle outfit tomorrow.

The Sharks played some enterprising rugby league in their first two matches and with those games under their belt but will be looking to lift another notch in a bid to keep their unbeaten record intact.

In the Sharks favour will be the return from injury of Jillaroos and NSW five eighth Allana Ferguson, although coach Jason Stanton has resisted the urge to throw her straight back into the starting side. Ferguson will enter the game from the interchange bench.

The Sharks will also be hoping for another powerful performance from Shontelle Stowers, with the centre extremely impressive in the two matches to date.  

The experience of Maddi Studdon and Corban McGregor has also been invaluable and when added to what skipper Ruan Sims brings to the team the Sharks present a strong all-around squad.

The Knights on the other hand are somewhat of an unknown quantity, although the naming of handful of girls who recently represented the Indigenous All Stars, makes them a dangerous commodity.

The Women’s Series match is scheduled to get underway almost immediately following the NRL match, with kick off expected at around 5.15pm

The girls match will be played nine-a-side and over two, 12 minute halves.

The Sharks Women’s Series team is proudly sponsored by ASD – Australian Solar Designs

The two respective team lists are below;

Sharks Women’s Series Team List
1              Corban McGregor
2              Jordan Baker
3              Shontelle Stowers
5              Botille Vette-Welsh
7              Maddison Studdon
8              Kate Mullaly
9              Nita Maynard
12           Talesha Quinn
13           Ruan Sims ©
6              Allana Ferguson
10           Ruby Ewe
16           Simone Kapriani
19           Rebeka Lally
20           Tayla Preston
23           Talei Holmes

Knights Women’s Series Team List
1              Amy Broadhead
13           Jerry Burgmann
5              Brooke Carter
10           Phoebe Desmond
4              Jayme Fressard
9              Kylie Hilder
3              Isabelle Kelly
14           Skye Lovett
2              Alicia Martin
6              Caitlin Moran
7              Simone Smith
11           Donna Sutton
15           Margaret Watson
12           Holli Wheeler
8             Bec Young  
              Jade Wilson

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners