You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

In what is set to be the biggest match in the Cronulla Sharks’ history, Shane Flanagan’s men are ready to create their own piece of history.

Standing between the Club and premiership glory however is one of the most consistent sides of the modern era; the Melbourne Storm.

However, in the final event of the year, the two most successful sides of 2016 will be vying it out on the biggest stage of all.

The Sharks, went 16 weeks undefeated in 2016, no mean feat in the best professional rugby league competition in the world.

The Storm on the other hand were crowned Minor Premiers, awarded the J. J. Giltinan Shield following the conclusion of the regular season.

It really is the two best teams of the 2016 season going head to head.

Having defeated the reigning premiers, the North Queensland Cowboys to book their place in the 2016 decider, the Sharks are full of confidence with a fit and healthy squad to choose from.

The Melbourne Storm on the other hand played host to a red-hot Canberra Raiders side in what was an even Finals contest.

The Minor Premiers proved too good for the Canberra side, victorious 14-12 booking their place in the 2016 decider.

With one win apiece for each side in 2016, the stats sheet told a very similar story, with hardly anything separating the two teams.

The Sharks crossed the line on a total of 106 occasions throughout the year whilst the Storm crossed 101.

Both sides were strong when travelling up the middle of the field with the Storm averaging 1605 metres per game and the Sharks 1,594.

The Sharks created 120 line-breaks while the Storm created 119, whilst the Sharks created 87 try-assists to the Storm’s 84.

The stats don’t lie; tomorrow’s Grand Final is set to be a tight tussle.

The best two teams of 2016 are facing off in the competition decider and it’s set to be a cracking contest.

Up Up Cronulla!


Head-to-Head: Played 31, Melbourne 21, Cronulla 10

At ANZ Stadium: 1st in history

Last 5 Meetings:

Round 26, 2016: Storm 26 def. Sharks 6 @ AAMI Park

Round 4, 2016: Sharks 14 def. Storm 6 @ AAMI Park

Round 24, 2015: Storm 30 def. Sharks 2 @ Remondis Stadium

Round 3, 2015: Storm 36 def. Sharks 18 @ AAMI Park

Round 23, 2014: Storm 48 def. Shark 6 @ AAMI Park  


CrownBet Markets

HTH: Storm ($1.82) v Sharks ($2.02)

Line: Storm -1.5 ($1.92) v Sharks +1.5 ($1.92)

First Try Scorer: Suliasi Vunivalu ($8), Marika Koroibete ($9), Valentine Holmes ($10), Sosaia Feki ($12), Will Chambers ($13), Ben Barba ($14), Luke Lewis ($23), Jesse Bromwich ($41).

Clive Churchill Medal: Cameron Smith ($5.50), Cooper Cronk ($6), Paul Gallen ($9), James Maloney ($9), Jesse Bromwich ($13), Ben Barba ($13),

*Prices quoted at 13:00pm Saturday, October 1. For the latest odds and more markets on the match, click here.

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners