You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Sharks Under20’s hooker and Captain Jayden Brailey has been rewarded for an outstanding 2016 by being named in the Holden Cup Team of the Year.

Brailey, who has played every game of the season for the Sharks NYC side, ranks highly in a number of statistical categories, including try assists and dummy half runs where he is second amongst all players in the Holden Cup.

He is also on top of the pile when it comes to tackles made, with his high work rate a feature of his game.

In being named amongst the Holden Cup’s best, Brailey sits alongside a group of emerging NRL stars such as Kalyn Ponga (Cowboys), Jaydn Su’A (Broncos), Gideon Gela-Mosby (North Queensland Cowboys), Robert Jennings (Penrith Panthers) and Luciano Leilua (St George Illawarra Dragons).

The team was announced at today’s 2016 NRL Telstra Premiership Finals Series Launch at Allianz Stadium.

NRL Head of Football Brian Canavan said 90 percent of players who made the Holden Cup Team of the Year went on to play in the NRL.

“It’s become clear that the Holden Cup Team of the Year is a virtual preview of the next batch of NRL talent,” Mr Canavan said. “In fact a number of this year’s team have already made their mark in the NRL.

“But just as important as their NRL statistics, I am also pleased to see the education and training that these players are undertaking.

“Last year’s Team of the Year included Tom Trjbojevic, Ashley Taylor, Te Maire Martin and Latrell Mitchell.

“I’m looking forward to see what this next group of players do in the NRL.”

This year’s team joins an honour roll that includes some of the NRL’s most talented stars, including Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Valentine Holmes, Daly-Cherry Evans, Ben Barba, Kieran Foran, Marika Koroibete, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, Ben Matulino, Dane Gagai, Jesse Bromwich, Jason Taumololo, Shaun Fensom, Tariq Sims, Gareth Widdop, Ben Hunt, Trent Merrin, David Klemmer, Dylan Napa, James Segeyaro, Konrad Hurrell, Luke Brooks and Bryce Cartwright.


The 2016 Holden Cup Team of the Year is:


Fullback - Kalyn Ponga (North Queensland Cowboys) 

Wing - Gideon Gela-Mosby (North Queensland Cowboys)       

Centre - Robert Jennings (Penrith Panthers)               

Centre - Nick Cotric (Canberra Raiders)            

Wing - Joseph Manu (Sydney Roosters)                

Five-eighth - Tyrone May (Penrith Panthers)             

Halfback - Troy Dargan (Parramatta Eels)

Prop - Alex Twal (Parramatta Eels)

Hooker - Brandon Smith (North Queensland Cowboys)       

Prop - Oliver Clark (Penrith Panthers)            

Second-Row - Luciano Leilua (St George Illawarra Dragons)       

Second-Row - Jaydn Su'A (Brisbane Broncos)            

Lock - Nat Butcher (Sydney Roosters)      


Interchange - Jayden Brailey (Cronulla Sharks)

Interchange - Matthew Dufty  (St George Illawarra Dragons)     

Interchange - Tyrell Fuimaono (Parramatta Eels)              

Interchange - Dylan Edwards (Penrith Panthers)           

Coach - Cameron Ciraldo (Penrith Panthers)

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners