You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Digital Image by Robb Cox © :NRL Rugby League - Round 8; Sharks V Panthers, Remondis Stadium. Saturday the 26th of April 2014.

Skipper Paul Gallen is back for the Sharks for their match with trans-Tasman rivals the Warriors, and just in the nick of time with the injury toll at the club continuing to mount.

While the return of Gallen is a major positive for the Sharks, season-ending injuries to Luke Lewis, Wade Graham and Jacob Gagan, along with a minor hamstring complaint which will also see Anthony Tupou sidelined, has resulted in coach James Shepherd naming a depleted squad for the match this weekend.

Sosaia Feki, Junior Roqica and Matt Prior have been added to make up an 18-man squad, with Valentine Holmes retaining his place in the team after his impressive debut against the Eels last Saturday.

Feki is back after missing the match against the Eels with a foot problem, while Prior returns following a week in sidelines due to suspension. Holmes will take the place of Gagan on the wing.

Prior and Roqica are on a five-man bench, with the team to be finalised closer to game day.

Facing a Warriors team desperately scrambling to qualify for the finals, the Sharks can expect a hostile reception, with former Cronulla players Chad Townsend and Jayson Bukuya certain to be fired up to put in big performances come Sunday.

The Sharks leave for New Zealand on Friday, with the game scheduled for a 2.00pm (Sydney time) kick off at Mt Smart Stadium on Sunday afternoon. The match will be shown live on Fox Sports.

NRL Team List – round 22
Sharks v Warriors
Sunday, July 10
Mt Smart Stadium
Kick-off – 2.00pm (Sydney time – 4.00pm in Auckland)

1              Michael Gordon
2              Sosaia Feki
3              Jonathan Wright
4              Ricky Leutele
5              Valentine Holmes
6              Fa’amanu Brown
7              Jeff Robson
8              Andrew Fifita
9              Michael Lichaa
10           Sam Tagataese
11           Chris Heighington
12           Tupou Sopoaga
13           Paul Gallen (c)
14           Pat Politoni
15           Junior Roqica
16           Tinirau Arona
17           Matt Prior
18           Tim Robinson

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners