You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Digital Image Grant Trouville © : John Morris wrapped up   : NRL Rugby League Round 10 - Women in League Round

With State of Origin and injuries impacting his stocks of players available, Sharks coach Peter Sharp has named a team with a vastly different look to the one which was narrowly beaten by the Tigers last Saturday night.

Skipper Paul Gallen and back rower Luke Lewis, today named in the NSW Origin team, have headed off to Coffs Harbour for training camp and are unavailable, while Anthony Tupou, Todd Carney and Beau Ryan suffered injuries in the Tigers loss and will miss the game against Souths.

In their place Sharp has recalled the experienced duo of Daniel Holdsworth and Blake Ayshford, with Jonathan Wright shifting from the centres into Ryan’s wing spot.

In the forwards, Tinirau Arona and Chris Heighington will start in place of Gallen and Lewis.

The Sharks will however face a Souths team without three Origin players, one of them superstar Greg Inglis, with the trio selected in the Queensland Origin team. Kiwi hooker Isaac Luke is still out with injury.

Working in the Sharks favour will be their desire to notch a win and make it a memorable 300th NRL appearance for hooker John Morris.

In what has been a stellar career at the top level, Morris is set to become just the 19th player in history to play 300 games in the either the NRL or previously what was the elite level First Grade competition.

A number of special celebrations are planned to mark Morris’s achievement.

The match is scheduled for a 7.00pm kickoff at Remondis Stadium on Monday night.

NRL Round 11 – Team List
Sharks v Rabbitohs
Monday, May 26
Remondis Stadium
Kickoff – 7.00pm

1          Michael Gordon

2          Sosaia Feki

3          Blake Ayshford

4          Ricky Leutele

5          Jonathan Wright

6          Daniel Holdsworth

7          Jeff Robson

8          Siosaia Vave

9          John Morris

10        Bryce Gibbs

11        Tinirau Arona

12        Wade Graham (c)

13        Chris Heighington



14        Isaac De Gois

15        Sam Tagataese

16        Tupou Sopoaga

17        David Fifita

18        Michael Lichaa


Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners