You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

It seemed appropriate during NRL Heritage Week to launch a special new section of the Sharks website.

In a week where the rich history of rugby league is being celebrated across the NRL at the eight games this weekend, the Sharks website will take it first steps towards recognising the players to have made the Cronulla club what it is today.

The ‘Heritage’ section will become available as a part of the ‘About’ drop down menu section of the website and features a complete listing of all past First Grade and/or NRL players, with a link to statistical information for 10 of the greatest to have pulled on the blue, black and white jersey.

In round two of the 2014 season David Fifita, twin brother of Kangaroo forward Andrew, became the 486th player to proudly wear the Cronulla club strip in a top grade game, carrying on the tradition started by player number one, the Sharks first captain Monty Porter.

Fifita followed in the footsteps of some of the greats of the game, international players, Origin representatives and a selection of the most dedicated clubmen to play for the Sharks.

The list will include each player to represent the club at the highest level, once upon a time the NSWRL First Grade competition, now the NRL, with all players having recieved a club number to signify their top grade debut.

Since 1967, the Sharks first year in the elite NSWRL competition, the number is 486 players – and counting. 

While the Sharks might have and a future to look forward to, they also have a past to be proud of and with the clubs’ 50th year approaching, now is the perfect time to start to recgonise those who have gone before.

Follow the link and see the complete list of former Sharks top grade players.

And 11 of our former legends 

1             1967       Monty Porter

48           1969       Greg Pierce 

50           1969       Tommy Bishop 

70           1971       Cliff Watson 

84           1973       Steve Rogers 

132         1979       David Hatch 

137         1980       Gavin Miller 

166         1983       Andrew Ettingshausen 

178         1984       Mark McGaw 

292         1994       David Peachey 

301         1995       Mat Rogers 


Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners