You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
: NRL Rugby League  Round 1 -Cronulla Sharks v Gold Coast Titans at Remondis Stadium Monday Night March 10th 2014. Digital Image by Grant Trouville ©

Sharks coach Peter Sharp has named Andrew Fifita and Siosaia Vave in his team to play the Bulldogs despite the fact that the two front rowers are facing suspension after being charged by the match review committee.

Both would miss Monday night’s game should they either take early guilty pleas or accept the charges, with the Sharks considering their options prior to the deadline of noon Wednesday before making a response.

They would escape penalty should they contest and beat the charges at a judiciary hearing.

At this stage replacements for the pair have not been added to the squad, with the likes of Tim Robinson and David Fifita coming into calculations should they be suspended.

Paul Gallen, after limping from the field and then being diagnosed with a syndesmosis ankle injury will not be fit to play on Monday night and is predicted to miss up to six matches.

On a positive note five-eighth Todd Carney has been selected to return from a hamstring injury against the Bulldogs, while Ricky Leutele has retained his place in the backline after a solid performance at left centre in the round one match on Monday night.

Tinirau Arona, impressive in his debut for the Sharks, has been slotted into the lock position in place of Gallen, while Chris Heighington, who has overcome a calf strain has made himself available has been named on an extended interchange bench in jersey 22.

The Sharks play their second consecutive Monday night match when they take on the Bulldogs at ANZ Stadium in round 2.

Round 2 Team List
Sharks v Bulldogs
ANZ Stadium,
Monday, March 17
Kickoff - 7.00pm

  1. Michael Gordon
  2. Sosaia Feki
  3. Blake Ayshford
  4. Ricky Leutele
  5. Jonathan Wright
  6. Todd Carney
  7. Daniel Holdsworth
  8. Andrew Fifita
  9. John Morris
  10. Bryce Gibbs
  11. Matt Prior
  12. Wade Graham
  13. Tinirau Arona

14. Isaac De Gois
15. Sam Tagataese
16. Tupou Sopoaga
17. Siosaia Vave
22. Chris Heighington

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners