You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Rising Sharks stars selected in NSW 19s Origin squads

NRL squad member Michael Gabrael and burgeoning women's stars Tia-Jordyn Vasilovski and Manilita Takapautolo will represent the Sharks in under-19s State of Origin games on Thursday, June 20.

As announced by the NSWRL on Tuesday, the trio have been selected to face Queensland in the respective men's and women's clashes at Leichhardt Oval.

Gabrael, who arrived on a three-year deal over the summer, starred for the club's SG Ball team with his pace and try-scoring nous before impressing in Jersey Flegg.

Normally a centre, the 19-year-old will feature on the wing for the young Blues in a side containing recent NRL debutants Chevy Stewart and Jesse McLean.

Vasilovski and Takapautolo – both part of the Sharks' 2024 NRLW squad, the former as a development player – were standouts in the Tarsha Gale Cup this year.

The pair's form led to selection for City NSW against a Country team last month, with the damaging Takapautolo named Player of the Match in a 26-18 defeat.

Tia-Jordyn Vasilovski on the burst.
Tia-Jordyn Vasilovski on the burst.

While she has excelled at fullback for the Sharks, Vasilovski will play on the wing for NSW with Takapautolo to provide impact in the front row.

The 19s Origin matches showcase the best rising talent in rugby league. The women's match will kick off at 5.45pm and the men's match at 7.45pm.

Manilita Takapautolo will play prop for the under-19 NSW team.
Manilita Takapautolo will play prop for the under-19 NSW team.

Both games will be shown live on Fox League and 9Now, with the women's match also broadcast on 9Gem and the men's match on Channel Nine.

Read more HERE.

State of Origin Under 19s Women
5.45pm, Thursday 20 June, Leichhardt Oval
Westpac NSW Under 19s Women
1.    Lilly-Ann White (Newcastle Knights)
2.    Tia-Jordyn Vasilovski (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
3.    Indie Bostock (Illawarra Steelers)
4.    Lindsay Tui (Parramatta Eels)
5.    Maria Paseka (Illawarra Steelers)
6.    Evie McGrath (Illawarra Steelers)
7.    Kasey Reh (Illawarra Steelers)
8.    Manilita Takapautolo (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
9.    Chelsea Savill (Illawarra Steelers)
10.    Hope Millard (Illawarra Steelers)
11.    Evah McEwen (Newcastle Knights)
12.    Charlotte Basham (Illawarra Steelers)
13.    Ryvrr-Lee Alo (Parramatta Eels)
14.    Evie Jones (Newcastle Knights)
15.    Ella Koster (Illawarra Steelers)
16.    Claudia Brown (Wests Tigers)
17.    Bronte Wilson (Illawarra Steelers)
18.    Abby Aros (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
19.    Waimarie Martin (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
20.    Sienna Yeo (Illawarra Steelers)
Coach: Kate Mullaly

State of Origin Under 19s Men
7.45pm, Thursday 20 June, Leichhardt Oval
CABE NSW Under 19s Men
1.    Chevy Stewart (Canberra Raiders)
2.    Jesse McLean (Penrith Panthers)
3.    Casey McLean (Penrith Panthers)
4.    Hayden Buchanan (St George Dragons)
5.    Michael Gabrael (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
6.    Jake Elliott (Sydney Roosters)
7.    Mitchell Woods (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
8.    Loko Pasifiki Tonga (St George Dragons)
9.    Matthew Arthur (Parramatta Eels)
10.    Fanafou Seve (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
11.    Jermaine McEwen (Newcastle Knights)
12.    Noah Martin (Canberra Raiders)
13.    Blake Steep (Sydney Roosters)
14.    Zane Harrison (Tweed Seagulls)
15.    Jacob Halangahu (St George Dragons)
16.    Kaiden Lahrs (North Queensland Cowboys)
17.    Sam Tuivaiti (Parramatta Eels)
18.    Connor Votano (Newcastle Knights)
19.    Cody Hopwood (Newcastle Knights)
20. Logan Spinks (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
Coach: Andrew Ryan

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners