You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Matthews Cup – Finals Week 1 – Team List

Following a confidence boosting victory over the Bulldogs in their last round match the Matthews Cup Sharks travel to St Mary’s Stadium to face the Parramatta Eels in a week one Finals clash.

The Sharks finished the season with five wins and two losses from their seven matches played to finish fourth and now tackle the fifth placed Eels who come into the game on the back of a win over the Canberra Raiders last weekend.

The under-17 Sharks were ruthless after giving up an early eight-point lead against the Bulldogs, scoring 28 unanswered points to dominate the match and close out the nine-round season on a high.

With a settled line up, coach Brad Kelly has understandably stuck solid with the team which beat the Bulldogs, with just one change, that being the inclusion of backrower Jasper Catton who missed his team’s last game due to injury.

Catton brings speed and agility to the backrow where he has excelled for the young Sharks side throughout the 2022 season.

Coach Kelly will also be looking for a similar performance from his forward pack who out-worked and out-muscled their opponents last weekend, with Chevy Stewart at fullback, along with halves Bryce Sait and Ashton Simmonds also crucial to the Sharks chances of success against the Eels.

The Sharks v Eels Matthews Cup match is scheduled for a 9.30am kick-off at St Mary’s Stadium on Friday.

Matthews Cup – Team List
Finals Week 1
Sharks v Eels
Friday, April 15
St Mary’s Stadium
Kick-off – 9.30am
1            Chevy Stewart ©

2            Kurt Montgomery

3            Albert Litisoni

4            Jayze Tuigamala

5            Richard Whalebone

6            Ashton Simmonds

7            Bryce Sait

8            Lachlan Araullo

9            Blake Woodger

10          Max McCarthy

11          Joshua Sidoti

12          Jasper Catton

13          Alex Challenor


14          Lochi McMartin-Catlett

15          Alex McFadden

16          Chris Christodoulou

17          Jai Davies

18          Tanner Featherstone

19          Villiami Hikila

20          Charnze Enoka

21          Lama Afu

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.