You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Classic Clash Preview – Sharks v Knights 2016

While the new 2020 NRL draw was released earlier this week, had the season followed the originally planned course, the Sharks would have been preparing for a round 10 match up against the Knights in Newcastle.

To coincide with this scheduled match, this week’s Classic Clash goes back to 2016 when a high-flying Sharks travelled to the Hunter looking to extend a two game winning streak while cementing their place towards the top of the competition ladder.

The Sharks came into the contest sitting equal first on the table following strong wins over fellow finals aspirants the Panthers and Broncos, while the opening nine rounds had been a struggle for a young Knights side which had just three competition points, from one win and one draw, to show for their efforts.

Giving the Sharks side an even greater spike of confidence was Newcastle’s most recent performance, a disappointing 38-0 loss to the Roosters.

The match came after a week’s break due to the rep round, meaning the Cronulla squad was well rested and close to full strength.

A potent Sharks backline, including the likes of Ben Barba, Jack Bird, Valentine Holmes and James Maloney were set to prove a handful for the Knights who would run out with a teenage five eighth in Brock Lamb alongside veteran Trent Hodkinson in the halves.

For the Sharks Gerard Beale beat out Ricky Leutele for a starting centre position, with Holmes on the wing and Barba at fullback. Former Shark Jeremy Smith was co-captain of the Knights.

Without giving too much away, the game featured some brilliant attacking play, with a number of spectacular tries scored.

The match was a part of Indigenous Round and played on Sunday, May 15 at Hunter Stadium in Newcastle.

This week’s Classic Clash replay, Sharks v Knights, round 10, 2016 will be kicking off at 2.00pm this Sunday, May 24, on the Sharks website.

The two teams are listed below.


1      Ben Barba

2      Sosaia Feki

3     Jack Bird

4      Gerard Beale

5      Valentine Holmes

6      James Maloney

7      Chad Townsend

8      Andrew Fifita

9      Michael Ennis

10    Sam Tagataese

11    Luke Lewis

12    Wade Graham

13    Paul Gallen


14 Ricky Leutele

15 Chris Heighington

16 Matt Prior

17 Joseph Paulo

23 David Fifita.


1 Dane Gagai

2 Nathan Ross

3. Sione Mata’utia

4. Pat Mata’utia

5. Akuila Uate

6. Brock Lamb

7. Trent Hodkinson (c)

8. Sam Mataora

9. Danny Levi

10. Daniel Saifiti

11. Tariq Sims (c)

12. Jacob Saifiti

13. Jeremy Smith (c)


14. Tyler Randell

15. Korbin Sims

16. Jack Stockwell

17. Mickey Paea

18. Pauli Pauli