You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Classic Clash – Team List Tuesday

Their hopes in 2019 came down to round 25 when the Sharks faced the Tigers in a winner-take-all clash at Leichhardt Oval on the final Sunday of the home and away season.

With the two teams locked in eighth place on 24 competition points, the winner would progress to week one of the Finals, while for the other, their 2019 campaign would be over.

The Sharks entered the game having lost a thriller at PointsBet Stadium to the Raiders on Sunday, a result which left them in a vulnerable situation, however the potential return of Matt Moylan, coupled with the possible inclusion of Shaun Johnson, was set to give the Cronulla side some confidence heading into hostile enemy territory.

Johnson and Moylan still needed to be assessed during the training week, with Moylan having missed the past two games with a hamstring complaint, while Johnson failed to complete the warmup leading into the Canberra game and was a late withdrawal.

The fitness of those two pending, the rest of the Sharks side was to take on a similar look to the one which went down 15-14 to the Raiders.

As for the Tigers, their unknown surrounds the status of the retiring Robbie Farah, with the champion hooker racing the clock to overcome a lower leg fracture and to be fit in time to run out on Sunday afternoon.

The match could also be potentially the last in the NRL for either Sharks skipper Paul Gallen or for the Tigers veteran Farah, with the loser eliminated from the 2019 title race. 

The Classic Clash will be aired in Friday, kicking off at 6.00pm, to coincide with the Sharks scheduled round 8 match up with the Tigers.

The Sharks 21-man squad listed below.

Classic Clash
Sharks Team List

Round 25
Sharks v Tigers
Leichhardt Oval

1 Josh Dugan

2 Sosaia Feki

3 Bronson Xerri

4 Josh Morris

5 Ronaldo Mulitalo

6 Shaun Johnson

7 Chad Townsend

8 Aaron Woods

9 Jayden Brailey

10 Matt Prior

11 Briton Nikora

12 Wade Graham

13 Paul Gallen

14 Kurt Capewell

15 Jack Williams

16 Andrew Fifita

17 Braden Hamlin-Uele

18 Billy Magoulias

19 Blayke Brailey

20 Kyle Flanagan

21 Matt Moylan


Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.