You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Classic Clash – Sharks v Brisbane, 1999

With the quality of the players included in the Brisbane side, despite finishing the home and away season as minor premiers and eight points clear of the eighth-placed Broncos, the Sharks were expecting a torrid encounter in their qualifying finals clash back in 1999.

Coming into the game in a rich vein of attacking form, having scored 40, 46, 56 and 38 points respectively in notching consecutive victories, scoring an incredible 34 tries across those four games, the Sharks were confident of another bold showing in a match scheduled for their home ground of Shark Park.

Strike centre Russell Richardson was missing due to injury, but the Sharks had a ready-made replacement in the physically imposing Paul Mellor, with the remainder of the side similar to the one which had scored 18 wins from 24 matches during the 1999 season.

It was a year in which David Peachey would score 19 tries in setting the single season record, with ‘The Whippet’ Brett Howland not far behind in using his scorching speed to cross the line 18 times throughout the year.

In the forwards, Jason Stevens and Martin Lang had laid the perfect platform up front, allowing skill players such as Nick Graham and halves Adam Dykes and Mitch Healey to do their thing.

Also in the Sharks favour was a fit and firing skipper Andrew Ettingshausen, who despite being in his 17th year in first grade had been a part of each and every game throughout the home and away season.

But as strong as the Sharks looked on paper, equally dangerous was a Broncos outfit which boasted a long list of State of Origin representatives.

Darren Lockyer at fullback, Wendell Sailor on the wing, the ‘raging bull’ Gorden Tallis and Australian front rower Shane Webcke in the forwards, along with team captain and Queensland five eighth Kevin Walters, amongst the players to watch.

One significant omission from the Broncos squad was Allan Langer, the Queensland and Kangaroos half back suffering a season-ending injury back in round eight.

The two teams had met twice during the year, however such was the anomaly of the 1999 draw those matches came in the first month of the season and on both occasions it was the Sharks coming out on top.

In a round two clash in Brisbane the Sharks prevailed by 14-6, while just a fortnight later they would again sneak home 20-18 in a match played at Shark Park.

As minor premiers, with a win the John Lang coached Cronulla side would earn a week off and progress to a Grand Final qualifier, while the Broncos faced elimination with a loss.

The match was scheduled for a Sunday afternoon at Shark Park, kicking off at 4.00pm, with Tim Mander to referee.

The two team lists are below.

The match will be live streamed via the Sharks website from 7.30pm tonight to coincide with their 2020 scheduled round six match up against the Broncos.



1.         David Peachey 
2.         Mat Rogers
3.         Andrew Ettingshausen (c)
4.         Paul Mellor
5.         Brett Howland
6.         Adam Dykes
7.         Mitch Healey
8.         Jason Stevens
9.         Dean Treister
10.       Martin Lang
11.       Sean Ryan
12.       Chris McKenna
13.       Nick Graham


14.       Andrew Pierce
15.       Nathan Long
16.       Colin Best
17.       Jason Ferris



1.         Darren Lockyer
2.         Michael Hancock
3.         Michael De Vere
4.         Tonie Carroll
5.         Wendell Sailor
 6.        Kevin Walters (c)
7.         Ben Walker
8.        Shane Webcke
9.         Luke Priddis
10.       Andrew Gee
11.       Gorden Tallis
12.       Brad Thorn
13.       Kevin Campion


14.       Phillip Lee
16.       Shane Walker
17.       Peter Ryan
18.       Lote Tuqiri

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.