You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Classic Clash Preview - Sharks v Bulldogs, 2007

Sharks Media will this week begin to fill the void created by the suspension of the NRL season by re-living some of the more memorable games from the past.

Each week Sharks will match up with the opponent from the 2020 draw - this week round four with the Sharks due to play the Bulldogs - and recapture the moment in an effort to provide that footy fix we all need.

Stay tuned to and for your viewing pleasure the game will go LIVE at the scheduled kick-off time of 5.30pm, this Saturday April 4. 

Let's take a look back.

The Sharks had started the 2007 season strongly, coming into the Round 10 clash sitting in fourth spot on the ladder.

Teetering on the fringe of the top eight, the Bulldogs were desperate for a win to boost their hopes of a finals future, with the teams facing off at Telstra Stadium.  

It was the first meeting between the two teams in 2007, the Sharks coming into the clash having won just one of their last seven matches against the Dogs.

Played during the Origin period, a handful of Sharks had been unlucky to not win selection into the respective squads and were eager to prove their worth  with a solid outing against a solid Canterbury team.

After an outstanding fortnight of football which included wins in their previous two matches, a late rally seeing them notch a comeback victory over the Warriors, before keeping Broncos scoreless for the final 71 minutes in another impressive display, saw the Sharks go into the contest as warm favourites.  

This classic match up featured plenty of familiar faces, the likes of Lance Thompson, Paul Gallen, Brett Kimmorley and Ben Ross lining up for the Sharks, Hazem El Masri, Sonny Bill Willliams and Luke Patten a few who would pull on the Dogs jersey on that day.

In Sharks team news, the energetic Misi Taulapapa would line up at fullback,  Brett Kearney succumbing to a quad injury, while the Bulldogs were missing Willie Mason and Andrew Ryan through their Origin commitments.

The match, which kicked off at 3.00pm on Sunday, May 20, was televised live on Channel Nine.

Sharks media will have the game up and ready to watch at our round 4 scheduled kick off time of 5.30pm tomorrow (Saturday).

Enjoy the first instalment of Sharks Classic Clashes, Sharks v Bulldogs, round 10, 2007. 

Team Lists


2. Misi Taulapapa
4. Fraser Anderson
3. Ben Pomeroy
16. Reece Williams
5. Luke Covell
6. Adam Dykes
7. Brett Kimmorley ©
8. Ben Ross
9. Kevin Kingston
10. Craig Stapleton
11. Paul Gallen
12. Lance Thompson
13. Greg Bird


14. Luke Douglas
17. Isaac De Gois
18. Phillip Leuluai
21. Mitch Brown


Ricky Stuart




1. Luke Patten
2. Hazem El Masri
5. Andrew Emelio
4. Willie Tonga
22. Trent Cutler
6. Ben Roberts
7. Brent Sherwin
8. Jarrad Hickey
9. Corey Hughes ©
10. Chris Armit
11. Sonny Bill Williams
12. Daniel Holdsworth
13. Reni Maitua


14. Adam Perry
15. Lee Te Maari
16. Kane Cleal
17. Jon Green


Steve Folkes