You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Newtown Jets held what they labelled their Victories Dinner and Presentation Night at the Petersham RSL Club earlier this week in celebrating one of the most successful seasons in their 100-plus years existence.

A large crowd assembled in the Petersham RSL Club auditorium to pay tribute to what was a season of extraordinary achievements for the oldest club in rugby league, with a number of young Sharks recognised for their efforts throughout the year.

The Jets won the Canterbury Cup NSW Grand Final and the NRL State Championship Final, with both titles being won in the most thrilling of circumstances.

Special guests on the night included Sharks NRL Head Coach John Morris, Jo Haylen MP (State Member for Summer Hill), David Trodden (NSW Rugby League CEO) and representatives of the club’s major sponsoring organisations.

The major prize on the night, the Brian “Chicka” Moore Shield for the Best and Fairest player went to Jaimin Jolliffe, the hard-working prop just edging out young gun Billy Magoulias.

Siosifa Talakai, who is currently training with the Sharks NRL squad, was named as the Fred Daly Memorial Award winner, with winger Sione Katoa claiming the Coaches Award.

Magoulias, who’s boot contributed to both last second victories in the NSW and State Championship Finals, took out the Most Consistent and Members Player of the Year awards.

Head Coach Greg Matterson, who united both a team made up of Sharks and Jets contracted players, as well as bringing together the Newtown supporter-base and community, was a popular winner of the Club Person of the Year. He has committed to be the Jets’ head coach again in 2020, Newtown’s 113th season in rugby league football.

The full list of award winners is below.

Like the Sharks, Newtown are back in training for the 2020 season, with the Jets set to again benefit from the inclusion of a collection of young and talented Sharks players next year.  


2019 Newtown Jets Award winners

Best and Fairest (Brian “Chicka” Moore Shield) – Jaimin (Jimmy) Jolliffe;

Fred Daly Memorial Shield – Siosifa Talakai;

Coach’s award – Sione Katoa;

Leading try-scorer – Will Kennedy – 16 tries;

Leading points-scorer – Braydon Trindall – 184 points (9 tries, 74 goals);

Best back – Will Kennedy;

Newtown RLFC Members’ Player of the Year – Billy Magoulias;

Most consistent player – Billy Magoulias;

Players’ Player – Scott Sorensen;

Special long service award – Matt Evans;

Club Person of the Year – Greg Matterson

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.