You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Grand Final Team List – Jets v Magpies

After a third successive Finals victory last Sunday, the Newtown Jets are primed and confident ahead of a Grand Final clash against Wentworthville in the Canterbury Cup decider on Sunday.

The Jets flew into the finals on the back of an improved second half of the season, one which included wins in four of their last five matches, with Newtown, the Sharks partner club in the Canterbury Cup competition, set to face the Magpies in what a month ago would have been an unlikely Grand Final matchup.  

Both teams found the winning formula late in the year, sneaking into the playoffs in seventh and eight positions respectively, however after the last three weeks few could argue the two clubs are the form teams of the competition and thoroughly deserve their place in the big game this weekend.

The Jets qualified for the Grand Final with a gutsy 22-20 victory over minor premiers the St George Illawarra Dragons, while their opponents were too good for Souths, setting up an exciting clash to decide the 2019 NSWRL champions.

While the Jets were pleased to welcome the likes of Ronaldo Mulitalo, Blayke Brailey, Jayson Bukuya, Billy Magoulias and Scott Sorensen into their team, they faced some adversity with the late withdrawal of five eighth and skipper Jack Williams, but in showing character and resilience were able to build a good lead and hold on under pressure to secure last week’s narrow win over the Dragons.

Again, the Jets will have a strong contingent of Sharks contracted players on deck, with coach Greg Matterson having to make some difficult selection decisions prior to Sunday’s game.

As for the Magpies, they will be led by former Eels captain Tim Mannah, along with experienced NRL campaigners David Gower, Josh Hoffman and ex-Shark Matt McIlwrick.

Kick off to Sunday’s game at Bankwest Stadium is at 3.10pm.

Following is a link to the Ticketek website for all ticket purchases and information.

Tickets are only $10 or purchase 3 and get the 4th free (under a family ticket).

Go to -

Ticketek and the NSWRL have arranged dedicated supporter bays in the stadium for Parramatta/Wentworthville fans and Jets/Sharks fans.  

Canterbury Cup Team List – Grand Final
Jets v Magpies
Sunday, September 29
Bankwest Stadium
Kick-off – 3.10pm

1              Will Kennedy

2              Sione Katoa

3              Aaron Gray

4              Ronaldo Mulitalo

5              Tyrone Phillips

6              Jack A Williams

7              Braydon Trindall

8              Toby Rudolf

9              Blayke Brailey

10           Jaimin Jolliffe

11           Scott Sorensen

12           Jayson Bukuya

13           Billy Magoulias


14           Teig Wilton

15           Jackson Ferris

16           Siosifa Talakai

17           Daniel Vasquez

18           Luke Polselli

19           Matt Evans

21           Wes Lolo

23           Grant Garvey

24           Josh Carr

25           Greg Eastwood

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.