You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
A 'school' of Sharks in NSW 20’s Squad

Update: July 3, 2018

Seventeen-year-old centre Bronson Xerri has been added to the NSW 20's team to play Queensland next Wednesday. 

Xerri, who starred for the Newtown Jets in the Intrust Super Premiership, comes in after injury has ruled out one of the originally selected players. 

Sharks jersey Flegg winger Chris Tupou has also added to the squad as a shadow player. The stockily built Tupou (pictured) will go into camp with the team on Friday but only travel to Brisbane next week if there are further injuries. 

See the original team selection announcement below. 

Five Sharks players, four in the match day 17 and one shadow player, have been named in the NSW Under-20's team to play Queensland in the curtain-raiser to State of Origin game three on Wednesday July 11 at Brisbane's Suncorp Stadium.

Kyle Flanagan and Blayke Brailey, both backing up after representing NSW Residents just over a week ago, will be joined by Isaac Lumelume and Teig Wilton in the Blues 20's team, while clubmate Josh Carr is 18th man.

The strong Sharks contingent reflects the success of the Sharks Jersey Flegg team in 2018 as well as the form of Flanagan and Brailey, with the pair having played their football with the Newtown Jets in the NSW Intrust Super Premiership this season.

They were both a part of the Blues win over Queensland in the Residents match which was played as the curtain-raiser to the second Origin game at ANZ Stadium.

The team will assemble on Friday, July 6 and will travel to Kiama under the guidance of coach Matt King who played nine games for NSW.

They will travel to Brisbane on Monday of next week in preparation for the fixture, where NSW will be looking for their seventh-straight victory over Queensland.

The Under-20 State of Origin clash will kick off at 5.15pm.

The NSW Under-20 squad is:
1 Ryan Papenhuyzen - Melbourne Storm
2 Isaac Lumelume - Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
3 Matheson Johns - St George-Illawarra Dragons
4 Billy Smith - Sydney Roosters
5 Brian Too - Penrith Panthers
6 Sean O'Sullivan - Sydney Roosters
7 Kyle Flanagan - Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
8 Oregon Kaufusi - Parramatta Eels
9 Reece Robson - St George-Illawarra Dragons
10 Jai Whitbread - Gold Coast Titans
11 William Burns - Penrith Panthers
12 Josh Curran - Sydney Roosters
13 Emre Guler - Canberra Raiders
14 Blayke Brailey - Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
15 Ky Rodwell - South Sydney Rabbitohs
16 Setefano Hala - Canberra Raiders
17 Teig Wilton - Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
18 Josh Carr - Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
19 Brendan O'Hagan - Canberra Raiders

Plus - Bronson Xerri - Sharks
- Chris Tupou - Sharks 

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners