You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Three Sharks named for Emerging Blues

Jayden Brailey, Jesse Ramien and Kyle Flanagan have been named in the Emerging Blues, a 38-player squad, chosen from 13 NRL clubs, which will assemble in Sydney in January.

 The Sharks trio join the likes of Nathan Cleary, Connor Watson and Angus Crichton, amongst the 38 as selected by Brydens Lawyers NSW Blues coach Brad Fittler.

 Comprised of players potentially destined for higher honours and State of Origin representation, the Emerging Blues will assemble at ANZ Stadium on Saturday, 13 January for a session with NSW True Blue Origin legends ahead of the 2018 season.

 Andrew Johns, Craig Fitzgibbon, Matt King, Mark O’Meley and Anthony Minichiello will join Fittler and Brydens Lawyers NSW Blues Assistant Coach Danny Buderus at the camp in specialist positional coaching roles.

 In addition to undertaking skills work, Emerging Blues will attend presentations preparing the young stars for league’s toughest arena.

 “I’ve brought these players in because they’re players I really respect and I believe they can learn a lot from the camp – both on and off the field,” Fittler says. “The majority of these players are young stars already playing first grade, or on their way to the top grade.

 “These players will be the backbone of the NSW Origin team going forward. They all have a big future.

 “We’re hoping they get a lot from the Emerging Blues camp, about expectations, and learning from some of NSW Origin’s best former players, who I have played with and really respect.”

 Brailey played the majority last season in the top grade for the Sharks, Ramien was given a small taste of the NRL late in the year, while Flanagan is yet to debut after enjoying a standout year in the NYC in 2017 where he smashed the previous single-season point-scoring record.

 All three have been hard at work since early November, training alongside the established stars during what has been a tough pre-season.  

Four young Sharks were also included in 2018 the Under 16s and Under 18's NSW Origin Pathways Program's.

Billy Burke and Blake Hosking were named in the Under 16's and Franklin Pele and Bronson Xerri in the Under 18's.

 The 2018 Emerging Blues squad (in club and alphabetical order) is:

Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos) 

Tevita Pengai Jr. (Brisbane Broncos)

Michael Lichaa (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

Nick Cotric (Canberra Raiders)

Jayden Brailey (Cronulla Sharks)

Kyle Flanagan (Cronulla Sharks)

Jessie Ramien (Cronulla Sharks)

Lachlan Croker (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

Jack Gosiewski (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles) 

Brian Kelly (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

Luke Metcalf (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

Curtis Scott (Melbourne Storm)

Brock Lamb (Newcastle Knights)

Daniel Saifiti (Newcastle Knights)

Connor Watson (Newcastle Knights)

Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)

Dylan Edwards (Penrith Panthers)

Moses Leota (Penrith Panthers)

Bevan French (Parramatta Eels)

Tepai Moeroa (Parramatta Eels)

Mitchell Moses (Parramatta Eels)

Kyle Schneider (Parramatta Eels)

Jake Hazard (Sydney Roosters)

Latrell Mitchell (Sydney Roosters)

Victor Radley (Sydney Roosters)

Angus Crichton (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Tyrell Fuimanu (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Campbell Graham (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Cam Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Matt Dufty (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Jai Field (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Zac Lomax (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Reece Robson (St George Illawarra Dragons)      

Hame Sele (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Jacob Liddle (Wests Tigers)

Bayley Sironen (Wests Tigers)

Moses Suli (Wests Tigers)

Alex Twal (Wests Tigers)