You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Australian World Cup team has confirmed that Andrew Fifita has withdrawn from the Kangaroo squad to represent Tonga at the Rugby League World Cup.

Fifita’s decision follows that of Cowboys lock Jason Taumalolo who will also play for Tonga rather than the New Zealand Kiwis

Penrith Panthers forward Reagan Campbell-Gillard has been called into the Kangaroos squad to replace Fifita who informed Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga today of his desire to represent Tonga.

“Andrew called me and said he was passionate about playing for Tonga and I respect and support that decision,” Meninga said.

 “It is obviously a significant boost for Tonga as well as the World Cup – and international Rugby League in general.

“At the same time it is also a great opportunity for someone like Reagan, who has been outstanding for the Panthers.

 “I’m extremely excited about seeing Reagan in a Kangaroos jersey.”

The Tongan squad will be announced shortly. 

The updated squad, listed alphabetically, is as follows:

Darius Boyd - Brisbane Broncos - Mudgeeraba Redbacks

Reagan Campbell-Gillard - Penrith Panthers - Windsor Wolves

Will Chambers - Melbourne Storm - Nhulunbuy, NT

Boyd Cordner (vc) - Sydney Roosters - Old Bar Pirates

Cooper Cronk - Melbourne Storm - Souths Acacia

Josh Dugan - St George Illawarra Dragons - South Tuggeranong Knights/Valley Dragons

Tyson Frizell - St George Illawarra Dragons - Corrimal Cougars

Dane Gagai - Newcastle Knights - Souths Sharks

Matt Gillett - Brisbane Broncos - Bribie Island Warrigals

Wade Graham - Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks - Blacktown City

Valentine Holmes - Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks - Western Lions/Townsville

Ben Hunt - Brisbane Broncos - Blackwater Crushers

Felise Kaufusi - Melbourne Storm - Bundaberg Brothers

David Klemmer - Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs - All Saints Toongabbie

Josh McGuire - Brisbane Broncos - Aspley

James Maloney - Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks - St Edwards, Gosford

Jordan McLean - Melbourne Storm - Young Cherrypickers

Michael Morgan - North Queensland Cowboys - Townsville Brothers

Cameron Munster - Melbourne Storm - Norths Knights

Billy Slater - Melbourne Storm - Innisfail

Cameron Smith (c) - Melbourne Storm - Logan Brothers

Jake Trbojevic - Manly Warringah Sea Eagles - Mona Vale Raiders

Tom Trbojevic - Manly Warringah Sea Eagles - Mona Vale Raiders

Aaron Woods - Wests Tigers - Leichhardt Juniors

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners