You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
2017 NRL - Grant Trouville © NRL Photos

In further confirmation of his outstanding 2017 season, Sharks skipper Paul Gallen was named in the Dally M Team of the Year at the annual awards ceremony held at The Star last night.

Gallen was named Lock of the Year for the third time in his career, with his award coming after a season where he played all 25 NRL games for the Sharks and ranked second amongst all NRL teams and players in metres gained during the year.

Recently at the Sharks presentation night Gallen claimed the Monty Porter Medal as Player of the Year and also the Player’s Player award after a standout season.

The major award on the night as Dally M Player of the Year, was taken out by Melbourne Storm captain Cameron Smith.

Smith polled 33 points on the year, well clear of his opponent in Sunday's grand final, North Queensland Cowboys halfback Michael Morgan (25 points) who finished as the runner-up.

St George Illawarra's Gareth Widdop (24) was third, ahead of Gallen and Sydney Roosters five-eighth Luke Keary in equal fourth on 22 points.

Sharks young hooker Jayden Brailey was beaten out by the Raiders’ Nick Cotric for Rookie of the Year, while Gallen, Chris Heighington and Luke Lewis were congratulated on the night for joining the 300-game club during the 2017 season.  

The full list of winners from last night’s Dally M awards night are listed below:

Captain of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Peter Moore Award for Rookie of the Year: Nick Cotric (Canberra Raiders)

Holden Cup Player of the Year: Jake Clifford (North Queensland Cowboys)

Top Points Scorer: Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)

Top Try Scorer: Suliasi Vunivalu (Melbourne Storm)

Tackle of the Year: Nathan Brown (Parramatta Eels)

Try of the Year: Kyle Feldt (North Queensland Cowboys)

Coach of the Year: Craig Bellamy (Melbourne Storm)

Peter Frilingos Headline Moment: Mitchell Pearce (Sydney Roosters)

Provan Summons People's Choice Medal: Clinton Gutherson (Parramatta Eels)

Female Player of the Year: Simaima Taufa (Jillaroos)

Fullback of the Year: Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)

Winger of the Year: Jordan Rapana (Canberra Raiders)

Centre of the Year: Dylan Walker (Manly Sea Eagles)

Five-eighth of the Year: Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Halfback of the Year: Michael Morgan (North Queensland Cowboys)

Lock of the Year: Paul Gallen (Cronulla Sharks)

Second-rower of the Year: Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)

Prop of the Year: Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)

Hooker of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Interchange Player of the Year: Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Penrith Panthers)

Dally M Player of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners