You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

They showed glimpses of what they are capable of with a win over Souths however the challenge for the Sharks steps up another notch when they travel to New Zealand on Friday to face a Warriors side needing to win every remaining game should they hope to make the 2017 NRL finals.

The Sharks maintained their position on the competition table with the win but with the teams tightly bunched at the top of the NRL ladder, another victory is imperative as they chase a place in the all-important top four.

The Warriors on the other hand, without inspirational attacking weapon Shaun Johnson, went down to the Cowboys in a spirited contest in Townsville last weekend, resigning themselves to the fact that nothing short of six wins from their final six games will see them play finals football.

Making the Sharks task somewhat more difficult will be the absence of experienced playmaker James Maloney, the Cronulla and NSW number six missing after breaking his hand in the later stages of the game against Souths.

Maloney is expected to miss two to three games.

Named in his place is the versatile Fa’amanu Brown, however Coach Shane Flanagan has other options available to him, Jack Bird switching to five eighth being one of them, should be decide to go in a different direction.

Other than the Maloney absence, the Sharks side which beat Souths is intact, with no other injury concerns.

The Sharks 21-man squad is listed below, with the game against the Warriors scheduled for a 6.00pm (Sydney time) kick off on Friday night.

NRL Team List – Round 21
Sharks v Warriors
Friday, July 28
Mount Smart Stadium
Kick-off – 6.00pm (Sydney time) 8.00pm (NZ time)

1 - Valentine Holmes
2 - Sosaia Feki
3 - Jack Bird
4 - Ricky Leutele
5 - Gerard Beale
6 - Fa’amanu Brown
7 - Chad Townsend
8 - Andrew Fifita
9 - James Segeyaro
10 - Matt Prior
11 - Luke Lewis
12 - Wade Graham
13 - Paul Gallen
14 - Jayson Bukuya
15 - Chris Heighington
16 - Kurt Capewell
17 - Jeremy Latimore
18 - Joseph Paulo
19 - Adam Clydesdale
20 - Sam Tagataese
21 – Jesse Ramien

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners