You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Sharks star backrower Luke Lewis will join an elite group tonight when he takes the field against South Sydney Rabbitohs, becoming the 28th player to achieve the 300-game milestone.

Lewis will be presented with the match ball from his 300th game following the round-20 clash at Southern Cross Group Stadium, officially making him the latest member of the exclusive ‘300 Club’.

Debuting for Penrith in 2001, Lewis played 208 games for the Panthers before joining the Sharks in 2013m where he has since played 91 NRL games for the Cronulla club.

In an illustrious career, Lewis, the Clive Churchill Medallist as man of the match in the Sharks Grand Final victory, has also represented Australia in 16 occasions and the NSW Blues at Origin level 17 times, with his form at the Sharks in 2017 showing plenty of life remains in his 33-year-old legs.

Shane Flanagan coached him in a Junior Kangaroos team long before reuniting with Lewis in 2013 at the Sharks,

“Everyone thought he was going to sail off into the sunset and retire and his form would resemble that, but his form has been fantastic,” Flanagan said. “This year would be as good as any year he’s played.

“He’s been a good quality person for our game, there’s been no poor stories about Luke Lewis and he should hold his head up when he runs out tonight.”

NRL CEO Todd Greenberg was also high in his praise of the contribution Lewis has made to the game over 17 seasons.

 “What Luke has done over the course of his long career is quite unique and certainly remarkable,” Greenberg said.

“He has won Premierships with two different Clubs, at the beginning and then again towards the back-end of his career.

 “With the Panthers, he did so as a winger, and then with the Sharks 13 years later, as a back-rower, in a performance which won him the Clive Churchill medal.

 “Along the way, he has also represented NSW as well as Australia.

“On behalf of all Rugby League fans I congratulate him on this achievement,” he said.

Lewis joins a who’s who of great players and outstanding clubmen, included amongst them four who have represented the Sharks in Andrew Ettingshausen, Chris Heighington, Brett Kimmorley and John Morris.

THE 300 CLUB (27 players)

355     Darren Lockyer             Brisbane                                                  1995-2011

350     Terry Lamb                    Wests, Canterbury                                   1980-1996

349     Steve Menzies               Manly, Northern Eagles                           1993-2008

348     Cameron Smith            Melbourne                                              2002-2017

347     Corey Parker                 Brisbane                                                  2001-2016

336     Brad Fittler                     Penrith, Sydney Roosters                        1989-2004

332     Cliff Lyons                     Norths, Manly                                           1985-1999

330     Nathan Hindmarsh        Parramatta                                               1998-2012

328     Andrew Ettingshausen   Cronulla                                                   1983-2000

325     Geoff Gerard                 Parramatta, Manly, Penrith                      1974-1989

318     Jason Croker                Canberra                                                  1991-2006

317     Hazem El Masri             Bulldogs                                                   1996-2009

315     Paul Langmack             Canterbury, Wests, Easts                         1983-1999

315     Luke Priddis                   C'berra, B'bane, P'rith, St George Ill       1997-2010

314     Cooper Cronk              Melbourne                                              2004-2017

313     Steve Price                    Bulldogs, Warriors                                   1994-2009

313     Brent Kite                       St George Illawarra, Manly, Penrith         2002-2015

312     Ruben Wiki                    Canberra, Warriors                                  1993-2008

311     Chris Heighington       Wests Tigers, Cronulla                          2003-2017

309     Petero Civoniceva         Brisbane, Penrith                                     1998-2012

307     Brett Kimmorley            N’tle, H'ter, Melb, N Eag, C'nulla, C’bury   1995-2010

303     Anthony Watmough       Northern Eagles, Manly, Parramatta        2002-2015

302     Anthony Minichiello       Sydney Roosters                                       2000-2014

301     Luke Ricketson              Sydney Roosters                                      1991-2005

301     Ryan Hoffman              Melbourne, Warriors                               2003-2017

300     Scott Prince                   N'th Qld, B'bane, Wests Tig, Gold C'st     1998-2013

300     John Morris                    N'tle, P'matta, Wests Tigers, Cronulla      2001-2014

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners