You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
2017 NRL - Grant Trouville © NRL Photos

A total of seven players from Cronulla Caringbah and currently in the Sharks Women’s Series squad have been named to play for City in the inaugural Women's Country and City Origin game.

The match which will be played at North Sydney Oval on Sunday, May 14, will see the teams do battle for the first Harvey Norman NSW Women's City-Country Shield, with the inaugural clash to see the continuation of the Country v City concept after it ended in the men's arena on Sunday afternoon.

The final teams, which exclude those who represented the Australian Jillaroos in last Friday's win over the New Zealand Kiwi Ferns, is filled with women hoping to represent the Harvey Norman NSW Women's side which is set to play Queensland later in the year.

Kate Mullaly, Allana Ferguson, Ruby Ewe and Talesha Quinn have been named in the City run-on 13, with the remainder of the Sharks on an extended interchange bench.

The women’s match will be followed by an Intrust Super Premiership NSW round 10 match which will see the Sharks partner club the Newtown Jets take on traditional rivals the North Sydney Bears for the Frank Hyde Shield.

The NSW City Origin team is listed below.


2017 Harvey Norman NSW Women's City squad

1 Tahlia Hunter - Glenmore Park Brumbies

2 Taleena Simon - Redfern All Blacks

3 Nikia Davis-Welsh - Redfern All Blacks

4 Karri Doyle - Redfern All Blacks

5 Kate Mullaly - Cronulla-Caringbah Sharks

6 Lavina Phillips - Redfern All Blacks

7 Allana Ferguson - Cronulla-Caringbah Sharks

8 Eunice Grimes - Redfern All Blacks

9 - Rebecca Riley - Redfern All Blacks

10 - Ruby Ewe - Cronulla-Caringbah Sharks

11 - Talesha Quinn - Cronulla-Caringbah Sharks

12 - Jasmin Allende - Redfern All Blacks

13 - Nicole Backhouse - Forestville Ferrets


14 - Kayla Peck - Forestville Ferrets

15 Vanessa Foliaki - Brisbane Easts

16 Kaarla Cowan - Cronulla-Caringbah Sharks

17 Botille Vette-Welsh - Cronulla-Caringbah Sharks

18 Lisa Tauariki - Cronulla-Caringbah Sharks

19 Kyara Nean - Redfern All Blacks

20 Ashlee Harrison - Penrith Panthers – Tarsha Gale Cup

Coach - Chris Studdon

2017 Women's Country squad

1.      Isabelle Kelly (Berkeley Vale)

2.       Rikeya Horne (Corrimal)

3.      Jayme Fressard (Berkeley Vale)

4.      Donna Sutton (North Newcastle)

5.      Brittany Constable (Berkeley)

6.      Talia Atfield (Bomaderry)

7.       Kylie Hilder (North Newcastle)

8.      Georgina Brooker (Corrimal)

9.      Tammy Fletcher (Corrimal)

10.  Jennaya Ottaway (Goulburn Workers)

11.   Erin Blackwell (Helensburgh)

12.  Phoebe Desmond (North Newcastle)

13.  Margaret Watson (North Newcastle)

14.  Alicia-Kate Hawke (Corrimal)

15.  Jade Etherden (Corrimal)

16.  Jerry Burgmann (North Newcastle)

17.  Amy Broadhead (North Newcastle)

18.  Hollie Wheeler (North Newcastle)

19.  Samantha Wood (Queanbeyan United)

20.  Alicia Martin (North Newcastle)

Coach: Mick Young

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners