You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

A reshuffled Cronulla Sharks Women’s Series side are preparing to invade the capital for a historic Round 1 clash against the Canberra Raiders.

Despite Australian Jillaroos Allana Ferguson and Ruan Sims succumbing to injury, Jason Stanton told Sharks TV that he is confident his side will step up for their season-opener on Saturday.

In the absence of Sims, Jillaroo halfback, Maddie Studdon, will captain the side. Adding strength to Cronulla’s halves, Lalovi Lealaiauloto will step into Ferguson’s five-eighth position.

Stanton told Sharks TV that his versatile side are excited to take the field after a preseason dedicated to mastering the basics. Cronulla’s outfit will feature talented athletes hailing from a range sporting backgrounds.

“Shontelle Stowers is from a rugby background and Jordan Baker is from soccer. Saturday represents their first big game of Rugby League.” Stanton said.

“They’re both exceptional talents and we’re all excited as a squad to support them as they adapt their skills across to rugby league.”

Another notable inclusion in Stanton’s 17-man side is Tayla Preston, Cronulla Sharks junior.  Stanton attributed her selection to her impressive performance and composure so far in this year’s Tarsha Gale Cup.

“She definitely deserves her position in this week’s women’s side and I think she’ll grab the opportunity with both hands.” Said Stanton

Stanton admitted that he is unsure what to expect ahead of his sides Round 1 contest against the Raiders.

“They’re unknown to us. Their under 18s squad has come out of the blocks looking good for the Tarsha Gale Cup,”

“It’s essentially a representative team from the area, so there are a lot of unknowns.”


Women’s Team Lists – Round 1
Sharks v Raiders
Saturday, March 11
GIO Stadium
Kick-off 4:15pm

Cronulla Sharks

1.     Corban McGregor

2.     Jordan Baker

3.     Shontelle Stowers

4.     Lalovi Lealaiauloto

5.     Botille Vette-Welsh

7.     Maddison Studdon

8.     Kate Mullaly

9.     Nita Maynard

11. Kaarla Cowan

12. Talesha Quinn

14. Rima Butler

16. Simone Karpani

17. Oneata Schwalger

20. Tayla Preston

22. Monique Luff

25. Ruby Ewe


Canberra Raiders


1. Gabi Suckling
2. Grace Marshall
3. Hollie Massey
4. Irene MacArthur
5. Jacinta Williams
6. Jennaya Ottaway (vc)
7. Jess Howard
8. Katie Glover
9. Paremo Marsh (c)
10. Paris Robinson
11. Pearl Rakete
12. Sammie Wood
13. Sarah Carter
14. Talei Wilson
15. Yolanda Maiava
16. Bridget Horsley
17. Maddie Douven
18. Remi Wilton
19. Sepa Salesa



Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners