You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Sharks five eighth James Maloney and young gun Valentine Holmes have been rewarded for their outstanding form with selection in the Australian Four Nations squad.

The pair join a squad which features something of a new look, with Sharks skipper Paul Gallen and experienced Broncos and Queensland lock Corey Parker left out by Coach Mal Meninga and his selection panel.

Other Sharks mentioned as possible inclusions, such as Wade Graham and Andrew Fifita were not named, with Fifita not considered due to an ongoing Integrity Unit investigation.

The team will come together on Thursday before departing for Perth on Sunday.

See following an NRL media release and the team list.  


From NRL Media

The Australian Rugby League Commission has today selected the following players to represent the Australian Kangaroos in the 2016 Four Nations tournament.

The 24-man squad to play in the Four Nations in the UK against England, New Zealand and Scotland contains seven potential Kangaroos debutants – Shannon Boyd, Jake Friend, Tyson Frizell, Valentine Holmes, James Maloney, Matt Moylan and Justin O’Neill.

The squad for the October 15 Test match against New Zealand at Perth’s nib Stadium will come from the 24 players named today, and will be confirmed early next week.

“This is a new era for the Kangaroos and the squad which has been selected for the Four Nations tournament reflects that,” Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga said.

“This squad has been selected for the present, but with an eye to the future.

 “It is extremely heartening to see the players buy in and the quality of the players available highlights that.

“We have very experienced Test players as well as some outstanding young players who have big futures in the green and gold.”

NRL CEO Todd Greenberg said the selectors had been informed that both Semi Radradra and Andrew Fifita were not eligible for selection for the tournament.

“In Semi's case, while he has pleaded not guilty, he has charges to answer at the end of the tournament,” Mr Greenberg said. “We don't want either him or the team to be distracted by this matter and have decided he will not be eligible for selection on this occasion.


“In Andrew's case, selection for the Australian team requires standards on and off the field and as he is currently under investigation by the Integrity Unit, we believe he still has some way to go to meet those off field standards.”

The Australian Four Nations squad will depart for Perth this Sunday (October 9), farewelled at a special Kangaroos reunion at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

The Kangaroos will come together this Thursday for a media opportunity. Details of the media opportunity will be released on Wednesday.

For updated player profiles of the 2016 Kangaroos Four Nations squad, please click here.

For a fact pack on the 2016 Kangaroos Four Nations squad, please click here.


The 2016 Kangaroos squad is:

Cameron Smith ©  Melbourne Storm    
Darius Boyd        Brisbane Broncos            
Shannon Boyd   Canberra Raiders            
Boyd Cordner    Sydney Roosters             
Cooper Cronk    Melbourne Storm           
Josh Dugan         St George Illawarra Dragons       
Blake Ferguson Sydney Roosters             
Jake Friend         Sydney Roosters             
Tyson Frizell       St George Illawarra Dragons       
Matt Gillett         Brisbane Broncos            
Valentine Holmes  Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
Greg Inglis         South Sydney Rabbitohs              
David Klemmer Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs              
James Maloney  Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks     
Josh Mansour    Penrith Panthers             
Trent Merrin      Penrith Panthers             
Michael Morgan  North Queensland Cowboys   
Matt Moylan      Penrith Panthers             
Justin O’Neill      North Queensland Cowboys      
Josh Papalii         Canberra Raiders            
Matt Scott           North Queensland Cowboys      
Sam Thaiday       Brisbane Broncos            
Johnathan Thurston  North Queensland Cowboys           
Aaron Woods    Wests Tigers      Leichhardt Juniors

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners