You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The demotion of NSW hooker Robbie Farah to the Wests Tigers Instrust Super Premiership team has put the Newtown Jets firmly in the spotlight for tomorrow’s round 20 match-up at Leichhardt Oval.

Farah’s falling out with the NRL coach has meant Farah will now line up against the Jets in what shapes as on important match for both sides in terms of their finals aspirations, with media interest in the ISP clash set to reach record levels.

The fifth placed Jets saw their season get back on track last weekend with a hard-fought win over the North Sydney Bears but up against the Tigers who currently sit fourth, with Farah leading the way from dummy half, presents as a formidable challenge for the Newtown side.

In the Jets favour however is the fact that the current health of the Sharks NRL squad means they are set to field a team with an abundance of top grade experience.

With Mitch Brown at fullback, Jesse Sene-Lafao up front and Matt McIlwrick at hooker, coupled with the inclusion of Kurt Capewell after his outstanding NRL debut two weeks ago, and on paper the Jets definitely have the team to match the Farah-led Tigers.

In all the Jets will field nine Sharks NRL squad members, included amongst those Anthony Moraitis, Jordan Drew and Josh Cleeland, three young players who have turned in consistently strong performances for the Newtown side throughout the 2016 season.

NSWRL Intrust Super Premiership – Round 20; Saturday, 23rd July 2016; Leichhardt Oval; Wests Tigers (in 4th place) v Newtown (in 5th place); Kick-Off: 3.00pm

Newtown’s team
Mitch Brown, Travis Robinson, Jordan Drew, Matt Evans, Jacob Gagan, Kurt Kara, Josh Cleeland, Anthony Moraitis, Malakai Houma, Kurt Capewell, Junior Roqica, Matt McIlwrick, Jesse Sene-Lefao. Bench: Jason Schirnack, Jaline Graham, Kurt Dillon, Saulala Houma, Harrison Muller, Ahmad Ellaz. Coach: Greg Matterson.

Wests Tigers
Watson Heleta, Charlie Taylor, Chance Peni, Michael Chee Kam, Joshua Addo, Jack Littlejohn, Justin Hunt, Curtis Sironen, Esan Marsters, Tyler Cassel, Jordan Grant, Robbie Farah, Wesley Lolo. Bench: Manaia Cherrington, Jeremy Marshall-King, Rodney Griffin, J J Felise, Dallas Graham, Manaia Rudolph. Coach: Paul Stringer.

For those unable to get to Leichhardt tomorrow, keep up with the match developments and scores as they happen by becoming a Newtown Jets Twitter Follower on

You can do the same on Facebook by going to:

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners