You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

After an impressive win and an unlucky loss, the Sharks Matthews Cup and SG Ball teams remain in the hunt to defend the State and National titles won in 2015 heading into week two of the NSWRL Junior rep finals series.

The Ball Sharks were dominant in beating the Bulldogs, turning around a less-than-stellar run of form, while the Matthews Cup boys were beaten by a very dubious late Newcastle try in their qualifying final played last weekend.

In finishing second after the nine rounds of the regular season however the Matthews Sharks have a second chance, one which they hope to utilise when they tackle the Panthers at Leichhardt Oval on Saturday.

Coincidently the Ball Sharks, after limping into the finals in seventh, now find themselves in the same situation as their Matthews Cup colleagues and as fate would have it, they have also drawn the Penrith side for their sudden-death final this weekend.

The Matthews Cup match has been scheduled to kick off at 11.30am, with the SG Ball match to follow at 1.00pm.

The two team lists have been announced, with the finals schedule also included below.

Matthews Cup Team List – Finals Week 2
Sharks v Panthers
Saturday, April 23
Leichhardt Oval
Kick-off – 11.30am

1 Jonaiah Lualua
2 Cameron O’Connor
3 Bronson Xerri
4 Declan Casey
5 George Sukanaivalu
6 Kai Broadhurst ©
7 Angus Ernst
8 Joshua Holt
9 Isaac Longmuir
10 Franklin Pele
11 William Swann
12 Adam Mortlock
13 Andrew Thomson
14 Bailey Cantrill
15 Jackson Devine
16 Saint Sakai
17 Damon Smith
19 Redford Tiatia

SG Ball Team List – Finals Week 2
Sharks v Panthers
Saturday, April 23
Leichhardt Oval
Kick-off – 1.00pm

1 Jackson Ferris
2 Isaac Lumelume
3 Semisi Kioa
4 Dylan Xerri
5 Chris Tupou
6 Luke Metcalf
7 Luke Jurd
8 Fine Kula
9 Blayke Brailey
10 James Roumanos
11 Jaeman Salmon
12 Luke Kisaloff
13 Lachlan Smith
14 Dean Tatsis
15 Donavan Briggs
16 Jack Gould
17 Soakimi Tuitavuki

Harold Matthews:
Manly v Canterbury - 10am
Cronulla v Penrith - 11:30am

SG Ball:
Penrith v Cronulla - 1pm
South Sydney v Parramatta - 2:30pm

All matches are at Leichhardt Oval.

Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners