You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Jack Bird celebrates at fulltime:	Rugby League, NRL Round 16 North Queensland Cowboys v Cronulla Sutherland Sharks at Townsville, Saturday June 27 2015. Digital Image by Colin Whelan ©

Veteran Michael Ennis and his rookie teammate Jack Bird have both picked up awards at the annual Dally M ceremony held at The Star in Sydney. 

Ennis, who finished tied second in the voting behind runaway winner Johnathan Thurston for the major Dally M player of the year award, claimed the hooker of the year from a star-studded field which included the likes of Storm skipper Cameron Smith and young Cowboys rake Jake Granville. 

As for as Bird was concerned, the young Shark was a worthy winner of the NRL Rookie of the Year, taking out the award from a other nominated first year players Tom Trbojevic, Cameron Munster and Kane Elgey from the Titans. 

On a night where Thurston made history in becoming the first player to win four Dally M Player of the Year awards, the Sharks were well represented in a number of categories after a season in which they qualified for the finals and progressed to week two with a win over Souths in an elimination final. 

Shane Flanagan was nominated for Coach of the Year alongside Wayne Bennett, Trent Robinson and Paul Green, with Broncos mentor Bennett the winner, while Wade Graham, Valentine Holmes and Paul Gallen also nominees for the various positional Dally M's. 

Ennis was also one of four finalists for the Ken Stephen Medal for his outstanding work in the community, supporting numerous worthy causes. 

All the 2015 Dally M Award winners are listed below; 

Dally M Player of the Year: Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

Rookie of the Year: Jack Bird (Cronulla Sharks)

Lock of the Year: Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys)

Second-rower of the Year: Josh Jackson (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

Hooker of the Year: Michael Ennis (Cronulla Sharks)

Prop of the Year: Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)

Halfback of the Year: Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

Five-eighth of the Year: Blake Austin (Canberra Raiders)

Centre of the Year: James Roberts (Gold Coast Titans)

Winger of the Year: Semi Radradra (Parramatta Eels)

Fullback of the Year: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Sydney Roosters)

Female Player of the Year: Jenni-Sue Hoepper (Queensland/Australia)

Holden Cup Player of the Year: Ashley Taylor (Brisbane Broncos)

Representative Player of the Year: Corey Parker (Queensland/Australia)

Ken Stephen Community Medal: Luke Douglas (Gold Coast Titans) 

Provan Summons People's Choice Medal: Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

Coach of the Year: Wayne Bennett (Brisbane Broncos)

Captain of the Year: Johnathan Thurston/Matt Scott (North Queensland Cowboys)

Top Points-Scorer: Jarrod Croker (Canberra Raiders)

Top Try-Scorer: Semi Radradra (Parramatta Eels)



Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners