You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

A frustrating season which promised so much but unfortunately failed to deliver, has finished on a positive for the Newtown Jets who claimed a final round victory over the North Sydney Bears.

The Jets retained the Frank Hyde trophy with a 30-22 win, a victory which was built on a controlled performance from half Todd Murphy and four tries from winger Corin Smith.

Junior Roqica also proved hard to handle in the middle of the field in showing he will be up to the task if called upon by Sharks NRL coach Shane Flanagan during his teams’ finals campaign.

Sami Sauiluma was named as Newtown’s man of the match, with the powerhouse centre having a huge game, making a lot of valuable metres for the Jets coming out of their own half when the going was particularly tough and when the game was well and truly in the balance.

Despite the win over the Bears however the Jets will end the home and away season in ninth position, three points outside the eight meaning their 2015 campaign is officially over.

The Newtown side registered eight wins, one draw and 13 losses throughout the year.

Mounties wound up as minor premiers, claiming that title on for-and-against from Wyong and the Panthers, with all three registering 36 competition points for the year.

Newtown Jets 30
Corin Smith 4, Tim Robinson tries; Todd Murphy 5 goals
North Sydney Bears 22
Ed Murphy 2, Cody Walker 2 tries; Darren Nicholls 3 goals

Newtown’s team:
Daniel Abou-Sleiman, Corin Smith, Mitch Brown, Sami Sauiluma, Corey Brown, Nesiasi Mataitonga, Todd Murphy, Tim Robinson, Malakai Houma, Junior Roqica, Saulala Houma, Kurt Kara, Kurt Dillon.
Bench: Andrew Pearn, Ahmad Ellaz, Ray Moujalli, Tarek Elmasri.
Coach: Greg Matterson.

North Sydney’s team:
Darryl Millard, John Olive, Tulsa Saumamoa, Ed Murphy, Bernard Gregorius, Cody Walker, Darren Nicholls, Scott Sorensen, F J Mauala, Jack Gosiewski, Nathan Brown, Latrell Schaumkel, Zane Musgrove. Bench: Matt Hyland, Iroe Sumone, Evan Lee, Clayton Williams.
Coach: Ben Gardiner.

See the match highlights - CLICK HERE -

Other VB NSW Cup 25th Round results:
Wyong 44 d Wentworthville 12; Canterbury-Bankstown 36 d Wests Tigers 20; Mounties 36 d New Zealand Warriors 10; Penrith 34 d Illawarra Cutters 28; Manly-Warringah 38 d Newcastle Knights 24.

CLICK HERE for the VB NSW Cup competition ladder

Here’s how the NSWRL reviewed Round 25 of the VB NSW Cup: CLICK HERE


The timeline of Saturday’s Newtown-North Sydney match as provided by Newtown Jets media:

First Half:
Newtown kicked off running to the northern end.

North Sydney turned the ball over on the second tackle and then gave away a penalty.

2nd minute: Well-executed passing to the right side sends winger Corin Smith over in the corner, much to the raucous delight of the big Reunion Day crowd on the hill.

Todd Murphy converts from the sideline. Newtown leads 6-0.

4th minute: Norths exploit indecisive Jets defence, Cody Walker scores.

Try not converted. Newtown 6-4.

8th minute: More bad Jets defence and Ed Murphy scores near the southern end posts.

Try converted by Darren Nicholls. North Sydney 10-6.

Newtown’s speedster winger Corey Brown makes a long run up the left-side touchline but Ed Murphy pulls off a dramatic try-saving tackle.

17th minute: Corin Smith dashes from dummy-half and runs 60 metres to score in the right side corner.

Todd Murphy converts again from the sideline. Newtown 12-10.

20th minute: Junior Roqica breaks the line and Tim Robinson runs 40 metres at a terrific angle to score to the left of the northern posts.

Todd Murphy converts the try. Newtown 18-10.

32nd minute: Smart short side play involving Todd Murphy and Daniel Abou-Sleiman, who sends Corin Smith into the right side corner for his third try.

Try not converted. Newtown 22-10.

Newtown defends well on their own line in the later minutes of the first half.

Half-Time: Newtown leads 22-10.

North Sydney kicks off for the second half running to the northern end of Henson Park.

42nd minute: Jets hesitant defence is punished by Bears, with Ed Murphy sent away on a long distance try.

Converted by Darren Nicholls. Newtown 22-16.

Norths put Newtown under the cosh and lay siege at the Jets end of the field.

Jets make a succession of handling and passing errors and fail to complete a set in the first eleven minutes of the second half.

Somehow Newtown’s defence holds firm, aided by some average end of set options by the Bears.

55th minute: Jets retain the ball and Todd Murphy breaks away up the right hand side, sending a triumphant Corin “The Mudgee Mail” Smith racing in at the Sydenham Road end for his fourth try.

Try converted by Todd Murphy. Newtown 28-16.

60th minute: Norths Latrell Schaumkel has a try disallowed in the north-western corner.

More Jets errors giving Norths opportunities at Newtown’s end.

63rd minute: Norths weight of possession eventually tells as Cody Walker scores from a kick by Darren Nicholls into the in-goal.

Nicholls converts the try. Newtown 28-22.

Jets handling improves. Daniel Abou-Sleiman repeatedly safe under pressure in catching high kicks.

Abou-Sleiman is the subject of a couple of old-fashioned “coat hanger” high tackles.

71st minute: Todd Murphy kicks a penalty goal (from a penalty awarded because of one of these high tackles). Newtown 30-22.

73rd minute: A longer range penalty goal attempt by Todd Murphy is unsuccessful but it takes up some valuable time.

The clock is working against the Bears.

Newtown defends out the remainder of the half.

Full-Time: Newtown 30 defeated North Sydney 22.

Newtown wins the Frank Hyde Shield for 2015.


Acknowledgement of Country

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks respect and honour the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Premier Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners